(LEHIGHTON, PA 10-25-14) Zane Zeiner of Bath, made a shambles of the Late Model field and won in a very dominating fashion in Mahoning Valley Speedway’s season ending Octoberfast 2014.


Driving Darryl Teresak’s No. 76 car, Zeiner proved no match despite being paired against a very stout field. Fifth starting Zeiner went by Mike Sweeney on lap 26 of 60 and from then on proceeded to put on a driving clinic as he motored ahead of the pack with ease and precision on each passing lap.


Had it not been for a caution with a two laps to go, there would have been no one even close to catching him. Zeiner was so strong that he lapped all but second through fourth and was actually closing in on them prior to the final yellow.


“We had come here two weeks earlier and practiced and struggled. My hat’s off to Barry Kahnel (crew chief), that guy is amazing in what he taught me. We made a big swing here tonight and it definitely helped that we drove the Modified race earlier in the night because we were able to make changes to this car and I think that’s what helped us get to Victory Lane,” said Zeiner who earned $1500 for his efforts.


Beforehand Zeiner drove in the Modified portion of Octoberfast and finished second.


Sweeney raced into the early lead with 2014 track champion Earl Paules in tow. That would be the start of a very exciting and torrid battle as they ran two abreast lap after lap which included trading the lead as well.


However, by lap 11 Paules began to slip back and Zeiner had taken over second. It was just a matter of time before he would make his move to the front and when he did it was game over for the rest of the field.


While Zeiner was running away with the show Sweeney and Frankie Althouse where locked in a blazing fight to the finish. At the checkers Sweeney got the nod. Paules held on for fourth with George Ramos fifth.


If you’re going to win your first race why not make it a big one? That’s exactly what Dave Chapman of Nesquehoning did as he scored the $2000 top prize in the Harry’s U-Pull It Street Stock 75 lap event.


Chapman, who is a regular in Mahoning Valley’s Pro 4 division, began running a Street Stock midway through the season and immediately showed the potential to win.


After a redraw to determine the starting grid Chapman lined up inside row three. When the race commenced Matt Wentz, who had the pole, led the early going. Chapman quickly settled into third behind Josh Mooney.


With the inside lane the preferred line, Chapman was able to sneak by Mooney on lap 11 and three tours later he did the same to Wentz. From there on he would hit his marks perfectly and drove to the memorable win.


“This feels awesome,” said an overjoyed Chapman. “I can’t thank all my crew enough who help me with the car week after week. We finally got it.


“I knew if I just held the bottom and didn’t give anyone an opportunity to get underneath me and knock me out of the way I was going to make it happen.”


Mooney rode the rear bumper of Chapman during the final 25 laps and although he looked equally as fast, just couldn’t find the opening to make a pass. Steven Steigerwalt, point champion TJ Gursky and Jillian Long rounded out the top five.


Harry O’Neill of Mountain Top hasn’t race much at Mahoning Valley but when he does he sure makes it count. O’Neill claimed the win in the 50 lap Hobby Stock feature and pocketed a career high $500. It was his second win in only five starts.


O’Neill took the lead away from JP Curry after a lap nine restart and never looked back. Good thing too as there was a bevy of bumping and banging taking place behind him.


Cody Geist placed a solid second with Curry, Scott Adams and Rich Emel completing the top five.


Late Model Feature Finish (60 Laps): 1. Zane Zeiner, 2. Mike Sweeney, 3. Frankie Althouse, 4. Earl Paules, 5. George Ramos, 6. Jeremy Miller, 7. Geno Steigerwalt, 8. Danielle Paules, 9. Jerry DiNeen, 10. Paul Koehler Jr., 11. Jacob Kerstetter, 12. Kenny Hein, 13. Paul Frantz, 14. John Parker, 15. Mark Tyson, 16. Jacob Nemeth, 17. Paul Effrig, 18. Travis Fisher


Street Stock Feature Finish (75 Laps): 1. Dave Chapman, 2. Josh Mooney, 3. Steven Steigerwalt, 4. TJ Gursky, 5. Jillian Long, 6. Zach Graver, 7. Paul Morgan Jr., 8. Randy Ahner Jr., 9. Todd Ahner, 10. Jason Kuhn, 11. Aaron Kromer, 12. Cody Geist, 13. Gene Bowers, 14. Jared Ahner, 15. Cory Edelman, 16. Steve Hoffman, 17. Stacey Brown, 18. Matt Wentz, 19. Tommy Flanagan, 20. Brian Labar, 21. Jamie Smith, 22. Jonathan Tracey DNQ: Justin Mooney, Troy Bollinger, Gary Noe, Steve Shultz, Jerry Brighthaupt, Rich Emel, Dennis Lilik


Hobby Stock Feature Finish (40 Laps): 1. Harry O’Neill, 2. Cody Geist, 3. JP Curry, 4. Scott Adams, 5. Rich Emel, 6. Colin Bollinger, 7. Max Emel, 8. Tim Oswald DNS: Daniel Hargan


-MVS Press Release.  Photo Credit: Speed51.com.

Zeiner, Chapman and O’Neill Score Octoberfast Wins at Mahoning