Wisconsin Dells, WI — Dalton Zehr of Menomonee, Michigan captured the fourth leg of the Alive for 5 Series Saturday night at Dells Raceway Park (WI).  Zehr’s victory in the Badger State 100 was his second win of the year in the five-race series.


Zehr and Bobby Kendall of Montello, Wisconsin led the field to green, with Kendall jumping out to the early lead.


Ten laps into the 100-lap feature, Andrew Morrissey charged from his fourth starting spot to take command of the top spot. The first caution of the race slowed the pace on lap 20 when Icebreaker 100 winner Ty Majeski made contact with the outside wall while trying to make his way through the field. The damage suffered would be too much for Majeski to continue, forcing his night to come to an abrupt end.


On the ensuing restart it was Morrissey and Kendall pacing the field with Zehr settling in the third position. By the halfway point, Zehr slipped back by Kendall for the second spot and put his focus on the leader Morrissey. Zehr stalked Morrissey for a number of laps before pounding and recapturing the lead with 33 laps remaining.


A rash of late-race cautions tightened the field and with 10 laps to go Holzhausen made his move by Morrissey to take over the second spot, but Zehr proved to be flawless over the last 10 laps on his way to capturing the $4,500 payday.


Holzhausen crossed the finish line in second followed by Morrissey, Derek Kraus and fast qualifier Austin Nason rounding out the top five.


Earlier in the evening it was Mike Lichtfeld of Portage, Wisconsin winning the qualifying race to earn his spot into the main event. Brandon Hill of Woodstock, Illinois was the winner of the B-Main, which earned him a win and a starting spot in the feature event.


Badger State 100 Unofficial Results

1. 119-Dalton Zehr, [1]; 2. 78H-Skylar Holzhausen, [10]; 3. 39M-Andrew Morrissey, [4]; 4. 9K-Derek Kraus, [12]; 5. 14N-Austin Nason, [14]; 6. 22G-M.G Gajewski, [9]; 7. 99Z-Jake Zellmer, [3]; 8. 17B-Michael Bilderback, [5]; 9. 5T-Travis Sauter, [16]; 10. 42P-Dennis Prunty, [23]; 11. 25S-Jeff Storm, [7]; 12. 11K-Bobby Kendall, [2]; 13. 38D-Jordan DeVoy, [8]; 14. 1S-Michael Sauter, [20]; 15. 1B-Abe Bires, [21]; 16. 15S-Gabe Sommers, [6]; 17. 31J-Corey Jankowski, [18]; 18. 44L-Mike Lichtfeld, [15]; 19. 8W-Josh Wallace, [17]; 20. 51S-Dennis Schmidt, [13]; 21. 5J-Casey Johnson, [11]; 22. 34H-Brandon Hill, [19]; 23. 91M-Ty Majeski, [24]; 24. 63R-Thayran Rezin, [22]


-Dells Raceway Park Press Release

-Photo credit: Dalton Zehr Racing

Zehr Nails Down $4,500 Victory in the Badger State