‘Yung Money’ Cashes in on Friday Night at The Dome

Anytime NASCAR Cup Series driver Kyle Larson is on the entry list for a midget race, you know he will be tough to beat. That point was proven on the second night of preliminary action during the Gateway Dirt Nationals as Larson outdueled Michael Pickens and landed himself in victory lane at The Dome at America’s Center.


Tanner Thorson set the pace by setting quick time in qualifying Friday night, but ‘Yung Money’ wasn’t far off. Thorson and Larson both started on the pole for their respective heat races and each went on to win.


The New Zealand-native, Michael Pickens, jumped to the early lead but Larson didn’t let him out of sight. With five laps to go, the battle between the two intensified as Larson was knocking on Pickens door. Larson was able to make the pass and keep the momentum to land in victory lane.


“I was doing such a bad job on the restarts, it wouldn’t take off,” Larson said. “I was making a lot of time to Michael (Pickens) on the entry of turn one and he was still running higher in three and four, so I was able to make time up there and get by him. Then I had to keep the momentum up to keep him from sliding me when I got to the lead.


“That was a fun race though,” he continued. “The track is rough and technical, but it’s pretty fun. So once again another good car. I had to work for that one and I hope you fans enjoyed it and hopefully tomorrow we can put on another good show.”


Saturday will be the final night of Gateway Dirt Nationals in St. Louis, Missouri with a full night of racing for midgets and $10,000 on the line.


Race fans can find on-demand updates and photos from Friday night’s action by visiting Speed51’s Race Day Now coverage. A live video broadcast of Saturday’s racing can be viewed on DirtonDirt.com.


Gateway Dirt Nationals – Midgets Night #2 Results

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Cannon McIntosh
  3. Michael Pickens
  4. Tanner Thorson
  5. Cole Bodine
  6. Dillon Welch
  7. Gio Scelzi
  8. Jonathan Beason
  9. Sean McClelland
  10. Robert Dalby
  11. Dave Darland
  12. Chase Briscoe
  13. Carson Garrett
  14. Jake Neuman
  15. Sammy Swindell
  16. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  17. Clinton Boyles
  18. Ethan Mitchell


-Story by: Madison Mabry, Speed51.com Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51

‘Yung Money’ Cashes in on Friday Night at The Dome