Wisconsin Dells WI, (Saturday May,16 2015) . Reagan May paced the field early from the pole on Armed Forces Appreciation Night, with Mark Eswein in hot pursuit, but it was not to be for the early race leaders as Bobby Kendall was on a mission & took the lead before caution slowed the field and the battle was on between Portage Driver Mike Lichtfeld & Kendall with point leader Tim Schendel lurking in the shadows behind the pair. But after a hard fought battle & a dash to the checkers, It was the 2014 Super Late Model Rookie of the Year Mike Lichtfeld marching to victory in the Armed Forces 60 Saturday night at Dells Raceway Park., rounding out the top five was Bobby Kendell, Tim Schendel, Michael Sauter & Alex Prunty from Lomira Wisconsin.

Super Late Model Armed Forces 60
1-Mike Lichtfeld
2-Bobby Kendall
3-Tim Schendel
4-Michael Sauter
5-Alex Prunty
6-Landry Potter
7-Rich Schumann Jr
8-Ben Pettis
9-Collin Reffner
10-Reagan May
11-Jeff Weinfurther
12-Corey Jankowski
13-Jeff Storm
14-Mike Breiner
15-Brian Hakala
16-Mark Eswein
17-Greg Pawelski
18-Keith Tolf
DASH: Bobby Kendall
Odd Heat: Michael Sauter
Even Heat: Brian Hakala
Fast Qualifier: Jeff Storm 13.699

Sportsman Division
Scott Luck from North Freedom Wi, grabbed the lead early in the Sportsman 20-Lap A-Main event till New Lisbon’s Dave Trute worked his way through the field to overtake the lead in the final laps for the victory.
Sportsman Feature
1-Dave Trute
2-Davey Pennel
3-Scott Luck
4-Mitch Lyden
5-Brandon Birdsill
6-Mahion Bornterger
7-Rick Coppernoll
DASH: Scott Luck
Heat: Scott Luck
Fast Qualifier: Dave Trute 14.797

Housman Engineering Bandit Division
Andrew Portzen took the lead in the Housman Engineering Bandit Division from the pole position & fought off a constant challenge from Wisconsin Dells Jim Lapp. Portzen had his biggest challenges on the white flag lap as fast qualifier Tom Berens and defending Track Champion James Junget of Rio WI, looked high & low coming off turn 4 for an opening but Portzen was up to the challenge holding onto the lead for the entire 20 laps for the Victory, rounding out the top five was Junget, Berens, Lapp, & John Preston of Pardeeville.

Housman Engineering 20-Lap Feature
1-Andrew Partzen
2-James Junget
3-Tom Berens
4-Jim Lapp
5-John Preston
6-Dan Snyder
7-Riley Zilmer
8-Dave Treu Jr.
9-Josh Mazur
10-Logan Delaney
11-Josh Bisbee
12-Dave Lembke
13-Chevy Schoff
14-Hanna Raley
15-Noah Revels
16-Dan Bagley
17-Marty Tackes
18-Colton Morgan

Odd Heat: Andrew Portzen
Even Heat: Dave Treu Jr.
Fast Qualifier: Tom Berens 16.917

T&S Custom Outlaw Bandits:
Kyle Stark was the man to beat in the T&S Custom Outlaw Bandits this week, he was wanted his track record back after George Sparkman of Rockford set a new track record last week of 16.046 in the Outlaw Bandit division beating Kyle Starks previous best of 16.070. That Was the Only thing Stark fell short of this week as he has a clean sweep by setting fast time, winning his heat & the A-Main event all form the rear of the field, Point leader John Handeland gave Stark a run for his money finishing second coming up just a bit short in the A-Main.

T&S Custom Feature Event
1-Kyle Stark
2-John Handeland
3-Ron Coppernoll
4-Dennis Delaney
5-Brandon Tackes
6-Riley Zilmer
7-Tim Finstad
8-Josh Mazur
9-Jim Stienbach

Heat: Stark
Fast Qualifier: Stark 16.084

American Super Cups
The American Super Cups Series made one of its 3 visits to Dells Raceway Park on Saturday night putting on a great show & when the Smoke cleared it Was Ken Jones taking a narrow victory over Derek Doerr, Mick Ellis rounded out the Top 3.

American Super Cup Feature
1-Ken Jones
2-Derek Doerr
3-Mick Ellis
4-Greg Davis
5-Chris Deren
6-Andy Forster

Heat: Derek Doerr
Qualifying : rained out

American Ethanol Super Truck Series:
Kraus Krowned King at Dells Raceway Park!
“The Stratford Strangler” may not be old enough to hold a driver’s license yet, but the youngster from Stratford, WI can certainly hold a wheel, and he proved it again at Dells Raceway Park night. Rick Corso and Mike Corvo led the field of American Ethanol SuperTrucks to the green flag. Corso used the inside lane to take the early advantage while Corvo slipped on the topside. Derek Kraus and Fuzzy’s Audio/Video Fast Qualifier, Camden Murphy, slipped passed Corvo for 2nd and set their sights on Corso. Krause wasted little time working on Corso and took the lead on lap 9. Murphy worked around Corso and zeroed in on the back bumper of Krause. At the halfway point Murphy was looking for a way around the youngster. Murphy went to the topside and had a good roll going when the caution flag flew for Chad Devine who hit turn two wall on lap 20. On the restart Murphy was hung out to dry on the high side and Kraus stepped away. Murphy fell back into the clutches of the E98-powered truck of Kevin Knuese, who then slipped by to work on Krause. With 3 to go Knuese was pressuring Krause’s back bumper. Coming off of turn four, Knuese got Krause sideways, but he wrestled the truck under control and powered his way to victory lane to claim his 2nd win in a row in American Ethanol SuperTruck Series action. (Kraus, who earlier won the 2015 American Ethanol SuperTruck Series opener at Rockford Speedway, was the youngest racer at 13 years of age, to win in a full-bodied stock car in the 68 year history of the track). “It was a night of clean, close competition” stated crew chief Mark Kraus. Knuese finished 2nd, Murphy 3rd, Chester Ace and Michael Raskovic battled back into a top 5 finish. Camden Murphy fast time for the 2nd straight event, in doing so he also set a new track record for trucks at Dells Raceway Park. Camden Murphy paced qualifying with a 13.787(new track record)
Heat 1: Winner; Kevin Knuese
Heat 2: Winner; Rick Corso

9 Derek Kraus
33 Kevin Knuese
85 Camden Murphy
93 Chester Ace
14 Mike Raskovic
3 Rick Corso
26 Mike Corvo
28 Danielle Behn
54 Chad Devine
27 Ken Donais
71 Blake Brown


– Dells Raceway Park Press Release

Jeff Blaser Photo

Youth and Veterans Shine at Dells Raceway Park