CONCORD, N.C. — It has been more than 20 years since the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series last took on the high-banked, quarter-mile Placerville (Calif.) Speedway. The opportunity to bring the series back after all that time came at the hands of one Outlaws competitor, Brad Sweet, but it is another who brings a very special connection to the track.


In 1987, Paul McMahan, an Elk Grove, California native, stepped into a 410 sprint car for the first time in his career. Not long after that first start, McMahan got his first 410 win. That win, of course, came at Placerville.


“It doesn’t seem like it was that long ago but obviously it was,” McMahan said. “Going back to Placerville is pretty cool. That’s where I cut my teeth. It’s always cool to go back to a place like that. I’m looking forward to it.”


Despite his experience at the track, McMahan said he knows it has changed a lot over the years. His last race at Placerville came in 1998.


“When I went there in 1987 to when I went there in 1998, it changed two or three times,” he said. “Talking to several friends of mine who race there every week, the track has changed there again. I went there two years ago to look through the fence and it doesn’t look anything like it was almost 20 years ago. The only thing it’s still got there is the big hill on the back straightaway. That’s about the only thing that stays consistent.”


McMahan and his fellow World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series competitors take on Brad Sweet’s Placerville Short Track Outlaw Showdown presented by Riebes Auto Parts on Wednesday, April 8.


Reserved tickets can be purchased by visiting, or by calling the ticket hotline at (877) 395-8606. Pit passes sold on the day of the event will provide first-come first-served general admission grandstand seating. There are no age restrictions in the pits.


PLACERVILLE SPEEDWAY is ahigh-banked, quarter-mile oval. The track record of 9.913 was established by Tim Kaeding on March 27, 2004.For more event information, visit


Previous A-Feature Winners
1992 – Jac Haudenschild on March 11
1987 – Sammy Swindell on Sept. 2
1986 – Sammy Swindell on Sept. 3
1985 – Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 4


The following World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:
Jacob Allen –
Craig Dollansky –
David Gravel –
Jason Johnson –
Kraig Kinser –
Kerry Madsen –
Paul McMahan –
Daryn Pittman –
Joey Saldana –
Donny Schatz –
Logan Schuchart –
Jason Sides –
Shane Stewart –
Brad Sweet –
For more driver information, visit:


SEASON WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 3 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 28, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Stockton Dirt Track on March 21); Rico Abreu – 2 (Stockton Dirt Track on March 22, Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14);Daryn Pittman – 2 (Antioch Speedway on March 29, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 13);Brian Brown – 1 (USA Raceway on March 7); Tim Kaeding – 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 13); Terry McCarl – 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5); Shane Stewart – 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5); Brad Sweet – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15)


LISTEN LIVE: Listen live for FREE to the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series at Placerville Speedway on .


LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series website at for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.


GET SOCIAL: Follow the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series on Twitter at, like it on Facebook at, follow on Instagram at @WoOSprint or check out the latest videos on YouTube at


UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series returns to action on April 11 and 12 at Calistoga (Calif.) Speedway for the Wine Country Outlaw Showdown. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit


-World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Press Release. Photo credit: Brenda Meserve/

WoO Sprints Return to California Track After 23 Year Absence