Fremont, Ohio — Benton Ridge, Ohio’s Greg Wilson earned his second Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket victory of 2015 on Thursday night, June 25th; capturing main event action at the Fremont Speedway in Fremont, Ohio during round seven of the nine day campaign. Wilson, who held the top spot in the current Ohio Sprint Speedweek standings entering tonight’s program at the Fremont oval, held off ‘The Steel City Outlaw’ Tim Shaffer and three-time Speedweek winner Dale Blaney for the $5,000 top prize.


“This is really special” said Greg Wilson, “I’m a big fan of the guys who finished behind me…to win like this at Fremont is really special and emotional.”


Greg Wilson, who led the field to green from the pole position, now has three UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions victories in 2015 and 24 during the course of his career.


“We are a pretty small team” said Greg Wilson, “To have my wife and kids here makes it even more special for us, we’ve been working really hard and we know where our car needs to be every night. Dale Blaney is our measuring stick and if we can beat him every once in a while, it means a lot.”


Former Knoxville Nationals champion Tim Shaffer finished second during the 40-lap Speedweek contest after starting on the inside of row six. Shaffer made his charge to the front with the help of only one main event caution. The Aliquippa, Pennsylvania native had an opportunity to pass Wilson for the top spot will less than two laps remaining, but had to check up to avoid contact with the leader.


“I could have shoved the car in there a little harder” said Shaffer, “Todd gave me a great car here tonight, this is the best race track in the country in my eyes.”


Defending UNOH All Star champion Dale Blaney finished third during the Fremont Speedway main event after starting on the outside of row number four. The Hartford, Ohio native raced as high as second in the main event, but lost a position to eventual runner-up Tim Shaffer.


“Those guys were just a little better than me” said Dale Blaney, “The track started to lay a little rubber on the bottom and it made it pretty tough to pass. I think if the track wouldn’t have done that, we would have had a better opportunity to get around those guys.”


Full-time Fremont/Attica Sprint Title (F.A.S.T.) competitor Cap Henry rallied from 16th to finish fourth at Fremont Speedway, followed by ‘410’ sprint car rookie Nate Dussel who completed the top-five.


There were 40 UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars signed in for competition at Fremont Speedway. The 40 ‘410’ sprint cars were split into four group qualifying sessions, with all drivers qualifying against those in their respective heat races. Tim Shaffer, Ryan Smith, Dale Blaney, and Roger Crockett each earned fast time honors during their group qualifying efforts. Dale Blaney earned the fastest time overall; recording an official time of 12.921 seconds around the Fremont Speedway oval.


Brady Bacon, Tyler Gunn, Lee Jacobs, and Nate Dussel each earned victories during their respective UNOH All Star heat races. Broc Martin was the UNOH All Star B-main winner, with eventual main event winner Greg Wilson earning the Dash victory.


Round eight of the 33rd Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket scheduled at Limaland Motorsports Park has been canceled. UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions officials and track officials alike were forced to make the decision after rainfall moved into the Lima, Ohio area during the overnight hours. There will be no rain date.


Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will now head back to Fremont Speedway in Fremont, Ohio on Saturday, June 27th for the Speedweek finale. The 3/8’s mile semi-banked dirt oval will showcase round nine of Ohio Sprint Speedweek for the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions. Main gates are scheduled to open at 4PM with racing scheduled to begin at 7PM.


-All Star Circuit of Champions Press Release & Photo

Wilson Beats ‘Measuring Stick’ for Second Speedweeks Win