Stafford Springs, CT) — Stafford Speedway was back on track under the lights for the first time in 2015 with the BFF Friday program on Friday night, May 1st. Ronnie Williams took the lead early and then had to hold off challenges from Eric Berndt, Rowan Pennink, and then Keith Rocco to claim victory in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature, Josh Wood was the winner in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Joey Ferrigno was the winner of the 20-lap SK Light feature, Cliff Saunders won the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, Trace Beyer won the 15-lap DARE Stock feature, and Dana DiMatteo won the 20-lap Legend Cars feature.


In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Jeff Rocco didn’t come up to speed on the start in the outside groove and it backed things up throughout the field to where Woody Pitkat and Tyler Hines got into the frontstrech wall to bring the caution out.


Ronnie Williams led the first lap back under green but Eric Berndt quickly worked his way past Williams and took the lead on lap-2. Williams came back strong and nearly made a pass going into turn 3 on lap-3, but he settled backinto line behind Berndt. Matt Galko was third, with Joey Cipriano and Ryan Preece in fifth.


Williams was able to make a pass stick on lap-5 and he retook the lead from Berndt. Cipriano and Berndt were now side by side for second with Berndt getting the batter of that battle. Jeff Rocco, Todd Owen, and Jeff Baral spun in turn 4 to bring the caution out with 6 laps complete.


The restart saw Williams and Berndt side by side for two laps before Williams got clear into the lead. Cipriano won the duel for third with Rowan Pennink moving up to fourth and Matt Galko taking fifth. The caution came out with 11 laps complete as Michael Gervais, Jr. got loose in turn 4 and several cars got collected as they tried to avoid Gervais, including Ted Christopher, Mike Christohper, Jr., and Dan Avery.


Back under green, Berndt took the lead with Williams tucking into line in second. Pennink was now up to third with Cipriano and Tom Bolles locked in a side by side duel for fourth. Williams made a move to the low side of Berndt on lap-15 but Berndt was able to keep Williams behind him. Williams tried the move again in turns 3+4 and this time he was able to pull alongside Berndt. They raced side by side for the next lap with Williams taking the lead at the stripe by a half car length.


Williams cleared Berndt for the lead on lap-18 and Pennink made a move to get by Berndt on lap-19. Pennink’s move on Berndt opened the door for Cipriano to get alongside Berndt while Keith Rocco was all over the back bumper of both Cipriano and Berndt.
With 25 laps complete, there was a 5-car train consisting of Williams, Pennink, Berndt, Rocco, and Cipriano that were pulling away from Ryan Preece, Galko, and Bolles in sixth, seventh, and eighth. The order up front changed on lap-32 as Rocco went by Berndt to move up to third place while Williams continued to hold the lead with Pennink right behind him.


With 5 laps to go, Pennink was right on Williams’ back bumper with Rocco glued to his bumper in a 3-way fight for the lead. Rocco made an amazing move to the inside of Pennink, going as low in turn 3 as he could possibly drive his car to take over second with 3 laps to go. Rocco was right there but he couldn’t get close enough to Williams in the closing laps to make a move as Williams scored his first win of the 2015 season. Pennink finished third, with Berndt and Cipriano rounding out the top-5.


For more information contact the Stafford Motor Speedway track office at (860) 684-2783, or visit us on the web at


-Stafford Motor Speedway Press Release. Photo credit: Rick Ibsen/



1) Ronnie Williams, Tolland

2) Keith Rocco, Berlin

3) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa

4) Eric Berndt, Cromwell

5) Joey Cipriano, III, Waterbury

6) Matt Galko, Meriden

7) Ryan Preece, Berlin

8) Michael Gervais, Jr., Southbury

9) Tom Bolles, Ellington

10) Glen Reen, Wilbraham, Ma

11) Todd Owen, Somers

12) Dan Avery, Somers

13) Jeremy Sorel, Westfield, Ma

14) Branden Dion, Taunton, Ma

15) Tyler Hines, North Haven

16) Michael Christopher, Jr., Wolcott

17) Justin Bonsignore, West Islip, Ny

18) Woody Pitkat, Stafford Springs

19) Ted Christopher, Plainville

20) Jeff Rocco, Wallingford

21) Jeff Baral, Plantsville

22) Sean Foster, Willington



1) Josh Wood, Palmer, Ma

2) Adam Gray, Belchertown, Ma

3) Jim Mavlouganes, Bethany

4) Kevin Gambacorta, Ellington

5) Kyle Casagrande, Stafford Springs

6) Tom Butler, Stafford Springs

7) Ed Ricard, Stafford Springs

8) Michael Scorzelli, Feura Bush, Ny

9) Michael Bennett, Willington

10) Cory Casagrande, Stafford Springs

11) Michael Wray, Northford

12) Vin Esposito, Waterbury

13) Rich Hammann, Tolland

14) Chase Cook, Oakdale

15) Tom Fearn, East Longmeadow, Ma

16) Stu Fearn, East Longmeadow, Ma

17) Scott Cook, Oakdale



1) Joey Ferrigno, East Hartford

2) Geoff Boisjolie, East Hampton, Ma

3) D.J. Burnham, East Hartford

4) Kyle Jette, New Milford

5) Kyle Trayner, Marlborough, Ma

6) Matt Swanson, Acton, Ma

7) Bob Charland, Stafford

8) Paul French, Andover

9) Daniel Wesson, Monson, Ma

10) Todd Douillard, Palmer, Ma

11) Pete Lopuch, West Redding

12) Rit Dulac, Plantsville

13) Nick Salva, Prospect

14) Mark Alkas, Berlin

15) Carlos Gray, Manchester

16) Wesley Prucker, Stafford

17) Stephen Kopcik, Newtown

18) Glenn Griswold, Vernon

19) Tony Membrino, Jr., Plantsville

20) Jay Goff, Stafford Springs



1) Cliff Saunders, Stafford

2) Paul Arute, Tolland

3) David Arute, Tolland

4) Al Saunders, Stafford

5) Duane Provost, Indian Orchard, Ma

6) Austin Bessette, Stafford Springs

7) Andrew Hayes, Charlton, Ma

8) Justin Bren, Palmer, Ma

9) Kelsey Rottino, Willimantic

10) David Comeau, Palmer, Ma

11) R.J. Surdell, Manchester

12) Robert Bloxsom, III, Stratford

13) Matt Clement, Wethersfield



1) Trace Beyer, West Dover, Vt

2) Tyler Trott, East Hartford

3) Dan Dembek, Hampden, Ma

4) Frank L’Etoile, Jr., Wethersfield

5) Douglas Phelps, Jr., New Salem, Ma

6) Nicole Chambrello, Kensington

7) Zachary Robinson, Putnam

8) Marcello Rufrano, North Haven

9) Paul Bourdon, Jr., Jewett City

10) Alexandra Fearn, East Longmeadow, Ma

11) Chris Bagnall, Norfolk



1) Dana DiMatteo, Farmington

2) Devin O’Connell, Madison

3) Cory DiMatteo, Farmington

4) Teddy Hodgdon, IV, Danbury

5) Andrew Molleur, Shelton

6) Chris Fuller, Boylston, Ma

7) Mikey Flynn, Hampden, Ma

8) Curt Snow, West Warren, Ma

9) Jessica O’Leary, Warwick, Ri

10) Michael Hopkins, Springfield, Ma

11) Jerry Salvatore Macchia, Pawling, Ny

12) Noah Korner, Canton

13) Charles Russell Purdy, Gallion, Al


Williams Holds Off Pennink for Second SK Win at Stafford