William Byron Going SLM Racing Next Week

Kaukauna, WI — The latest driver to file their entry for Tuesday Night’s (August 3, 2021) Gandrud Auto Group 250 is William Byron. Bryon is the driver of the #24 Axalta Chevrolet Camaro for Hendrick Motorsports in the NASCAR Cup Series and will look to make his first career ARCA Midwest Tour start at Wisconsin International Raceway.


Byron was born and raised in Charlotte, NC and after success on iRacing he moved into Legends cars where he scored 33 feature wins and was the Legend Car Young Lions Division Champion at 15 years of age. Now 23 year old, Byron has accomplished a lot in little time. A four-win season in K&N East competition lead him to the 2015 Season Championship. The following year he set a rookie win record in the NASCAR Trucks with five in route to claiming Rookie of the Year honors.


William Byron again found himself as a rookie in another series, this time the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Four wins later and not only was he named Rookie of the Year but he was crowned 2017 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion. A strong rookie showing the following year propelled Byron to the 2018 NASCAR Cup Rookie of the Year, making him the second driver to win Rookie of the Year honors in consecutive seasons in all three NASCAR National Series.


He won the Pole for the Daytona 500 in 2019 and has since won the 400 at the World Center of Speed as well as clinching a 2021 playoff birth for the #24 team by winning this Spring at Homestead. Byron will join the ‘Stars and Cars’ of the ARCA Midwest Tour for a 250 lap feature event under the lights on Tuesday night in the 28 car field that pays $10,000 to the winner and $1,200 to start. The Midwest Truck Series will also be in action during the Gandrud Auto Group 250 event.


Schedule of Events for Tuesday:
10am Pit Gate Opens
2:15pm Practice Begins
4pm Front Gates Open
5pm Qualifying Begins
6:30pm Racing Begins

General Admission Pricing:
Adults $25, children ages 12 and under admitted free.
Tickets available in advance (through Monday night) at www.midwesttour.racing/tickets/ OR go on sale at the ticket gates Tuesday at 4pm.

Location: Wisconsin International Raceway is located at W1460 County Rd KK in Kaukauna, WI. For additional information visit www.wirmotorsports.com or call 920-766-5577.

Complete List of Past Gandrud Auto Group 250 Winners
1981 Mark Martin
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Dick Trickle
1984 Mark Martin
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Butch Miller
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Butch Miller
1989 Rich Bickle Jr.
1990 Dick Trickle
1991 Dick Trickle
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Scott Hansen
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Bryan Reffner
1996 Joe Shear
1997 Steve Carlson
1998 Steve Carlson
1999 Scott Hansen
2000 Brian Hoppe
2001 Steve Carlson
2002 Brian Hoppe
2003 Steve Carlson
2004 Steve Carlson
2005 Stephen Leicht
2007 Kyle Busch
2008 Steve Carlson
2009 Steve Carlson
2010 Johnny Sauter
2014 Johnny Sauter
2015 Nick Murgic
2016 Dennis Prunty
2017 Casey Johnson
2018 Chase Purdy
2019 Ty Majeski
2020 Ty Majeski


-ARCA Midwest Tour Press Release
-Photo Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images

William Byron Going SLM Racing Next Week