Throughout the first seven rounds of the Bojangles Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway (NC), Daniel Wilk rightly earned himself the moniker, “The Dominator.”  Seven straight wins in the Bandolero Bandits division had many wondering if he could continue his dominance and complete the 10-round sweep.


Tuesday night,  DJ Canipe answered that question by holding off Wilk during the final laps to become the first driver not named Daniel Wilk to win a Bandolero Bandits race during the 2015 Summer Shootout.


“We’ve been trying to catch him, pass him and beat him since Round 1,” Canipe said on the live PRN video broadcast.  “It feels great.”


Throughout the closing laps, Wilk closed in closer and closer to the back bumper of Canipe’s No. 29.  But like a savvy veteran, Canipe focused on his racing line and held the bottom groove around the quarter-mile oval to stay out in front on his way to the checkered flag.


“I was a little bit (nervous) because I knew he was catching me,” Canipe admitted.  “I just had to come off low and run my line.”


Wilk admitted he was disappointed by his streak coming to an end, but told powered by JEGS that his “motor started cutting out towards the end” as he attempted to chase down Canipe.


“I’m a little disappointed that we weren’t able to win this one, but the car was acting up so it was kind of hard to catch DJ,” said Wilk.  “It just is what it is.”


NASCAR K&N Pro Series East driver Austin Hill charged to his first victory of the 2015 Summer Shootout in the Legends Pro feature driving the Ladyga Motorsports No. 48.  The four-time K&N East winner and second-place driver in the championship standings was triumphant in just his second start in a Legends Car this season.


“Ladyga Motorsports, they do an awesome job and work their butts off,” said Hill.  “Last night they told me they went home and pretty much went through the whole car because we felt like we were just a little bit off last week.  They went all through the car and just made a few tweaks here and there.”


Hill’s win comes just four days after finishing fifth in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East United Site Services 70 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.  The driver from Winston, Georgia acknowledged the major differences between the two types of cars and tracks after Tuesday’s race.


“I haven’t raced one of these in eight months, so getting back in them last week was real different,” Hill stated.  “The K&N cars are a lot easier to drive; you have to drive them a little bit different.  These things you’ve just got to get up on the wheel and manhandle them every lap and just run as hard as you can.  A K&N car you’ll save tires, but this series you only have 25 laps so you run them as hard as you can.”


Bowman Gray Stadium Sportsman racer John Holleman IV (Semi-Pro), Tyler Chapman (Beginner Bandoleros), Robbie Faggart (Masters), Ashton Higgins (Outlaw Bandoleros) and Chase Purdy (Young Lions) also scored feature wins on a warm night in Concord, North Carolina.


The Bojangles’ Summer Shootout will return on Monday, July 27 and Tuesday, July 28 for the final two rounds of racing action.  With many of the points battles tight, the racing action is sure to be intense.


Those unable to make it out to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the final night of the 22nd Annual Summer Shootout next Tuesday can watch the action via a live pay-per-view stream hosted by the Performance Racing Network.


-By Brandon Paul, Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

-Photo credit:


Summer Shootout Round Eight Unofficial Results:

Beginner Bandolero Bandits (17 laps): 1. Tyler Chapman; 2. Mason Dejarnett; 3. Jackson Moore; 4. Stanley Hayes; 5. Byers Faunce; 6. Parker Eatmon; 7. Trevor Wester; 8. Tyler Bartoszewicz; 9. Adam Eades; 10. Zachary Miracle; 11. David Sullivan; 12. Jacob Putman; 13. Jaiden Reyna; 14. Jacob Gantz; 15. Jason Chapman

LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits (20 laps): 1. DJ Canipe; 2. Daniel Wilk; 3. Carson Kvapil; 4. Cameron Bolin; 5. Tommy Good; 6. William Robusto; 7. Josh Kossek; 8. Blaise Maddox; 9. Steven Chapman; 10. George Hayes; 11. Josh Speas; 12. Bryson Ruff; 13. Landon Rapp; 14. Isabella Robusto; 15. Leland Honeyman; 16. Dylan Notaro; 17. Blake Cisneros

Body Mechanic Human Tuning Group Legend Car Pros (25 laps): 1. Austin Hill; 2. Dillon Faggart; 3. Jared Irvan; 4. Jordan Black; 5. Michael Torres; 6. Greg Lang; 7. Alex Murray; 8. Ryan Shattuck; 9. Ryan Eyer; 10. Matthew Barnard; 11. Reid Wilson; 12. Evan Swilling; 13. Joey Padgett

Security Force Legend Car Masters (25 laps): 1. Robby Faggart; 2. Scott Whitaker; 3. Carl Cormier; 4. Tom Pistone; 5. Chip Ferguson; 6. Akinori Ogata; 7. Jan Ingram; 8. Ernie Irvin; 9. Jamie Smith; 10. Charles Parker; 11. Jon Craig; 12. Bruce Silver; 13. Herman Towe; 14. Ron Mander

Legend Car Semi-Pro (25 laps): 1. John Holleman IV; 2. Devin O’Connell; 3. Scott Joy; 4. Conner Pyle; 5. Stevie Johns Jr.; 6. Jensen Jorgensen; 7. Jordan Stillwell; 8. Sheldon Crouse; 9. Craig Biryle; 10. Joshua Plummer; 11. Holden German; 12. Hannah Bell; 13. Enrique Limon; 14. Taylor Jorgenson; 15. Jonathan Wessel; 16. Austin Langenstein; 17. Sprout Royal; 18. Gus Dean

Bandolero Outlaws (20 laps): 1. Ashton Higgins; 2. Blaise Brinkley; 3. Roy Hayes; 4. Gracie Trotter; 5. Matthew Emery; 6. Jordan Plummer; 7. Elysia Potter; 8. Conner Younginer; 9. Seth Henry; 10. Ashley Pantoulas; 11. Matthew Eades; 12. Alberto Limon; 13. Matthew Davey; 14. Liz Montgomery; 15. Trevor Rizzo; 16. Austin Geer

Legend Car Young Lions (20 laps): 1. Chase Purdy; 2. Austin Green; 3. Ryan Millington; 4. Jacob Heafner; 5. Eddie Fatscher; 6. Jack Fread; 7. Sam Mayer; 8. Conner Snow; 9. Dawson Cram; 10. Carson Poindexter; 11. Garrett Manes; 12. Alex Reece

Wilk’s Streak Ends; K&N East Driver Wins at Summer Shootout