SAN TAN VALLEY, Ariz. — The conclusion of the 13th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts atop the 1/3-mile FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway played out in the most unpredictable of fashions with Manitoba’s Ricky Weiss cashing for a $14,000 payday in Sunday night’s Shaw Trucking 50-lap Super Late Model finale.


Perhaps with a lucky horseshoe aboard the No. 7 entry, Weiss assumed the point for a green-white-checkered restart after Scott Bloomquist crashed into a stopped car less than a half-lap away from the checkered flag.


Earlier in the race, Bloomquist had taken command when Bobby Pierce surrendered the point with rear end failure.


“I hate to see that,” Weiss said of Bloomquist’s last lap misfortune. “He was checked out, he was gone.”


While Weiss topped the Late Model finale, Ricky Thornton, Jr., bested the Modifieds and Cole Searing added his fourth win of the six-race miniseries in X Modified competition with Darrell Nelson topping the makeup Modified main event from the previous night.


Brandon Sheppard earned the Wild West Shootout championship in the Modified ranks with Nelson capturing Modified title honors and Searing scoring X Modified championship honors for the second year in a row.


In the 50-lap Black Diamond Super Late Models presented by M&W Transport feature event, Bobby Pierce once again battled into the lead on the opening round and was gunning to bump Keyser Quarter Million Challenge bonus from $10,000 to $25,000 with a fourth win of the week.


And for much of the race, it appeared that the Illinois racer would do just that.


But for the second night in a row, Pierce slowed near the midway point to bring out a caution. This time, it came after 27 laps with race-ending rear end woes that handed the lead off to Bloomquist.


Closing in on his first career Wild West Shootout win, Bloomquist held nearly a half straightaway lead as he took the white flag only to have disaster strike when he tagged the car of R.C. Whitwell that was backed into the turn three wall.


Weiss, who had worked his way towards the front from 11th, found himself out front on the restart and raced on to his second victory of the week.


“Our speed is because of them,” Weiss said of the Bloomquist team. “We’ve been working together as a team.”


Brandon Overton chased Weiss to the line in second with Brandon Sheppard, Chase Junghans and Jimmy Mars rounding out the top five.


Sheppard’s sixth top-five run in as many events including one runner-up finish, two third-place showing, one fourth-place finish and a fifth-place outing was enough to net the 13th Annual Wild West Shootout championship.


“We stayed in the top five all week,” Sheppard commented. “We had a lot of bad luck all week that nobody ever saw. My hat’s off to all of my crew.”


Darrell Nelson opened the night by fending off Rodney Sanders to win the 25-lap Mesilla Valley Transportation/Border International Modifieds presented by Arizona Differential feature event postponed from Saturday night while Ricky Thornton, Jr., became the first repeat winner of the week by leading Sanders and Dereck Ramirez to the stripe in the finale.


Five top-fives in six events including the makeup feature win gave Nelson the Wild West Shootout Modified championship by just nine points over Sanders.


South Dakota’s Cole Searing put an exclamation point on a second consecutive Wild West Shootout championship effort in the X-Mods presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson ranks by racing to his fourth win of the week ahead of Austin Hunter and Preston Carr in the 20-lap finale.


After winning three of six features last year, Searing upped it to four along with a runner-up and a third-place finish to take the title by a comfortable 76 point advantage.


Arizona Speedway is located just minutes from Phoenix. From Phoenix, take US 60 east to Ironwood Dr., turn right (south) and go four miles, Arizona Speedway is on the right hand side. For more information, visit or call 520-664-2074.


“A” Main (50 Laps): 1. 7-Ricky Weiss, 2. 2-Brandon Overton, 3. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 4. 18-Chase Junghans, 5. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 6. 1p-Earl Pearson, Jr., 7. 71-Hudson O’Neal, 8. 1g-Garrett Alberson, 9. 97-Cade Dillard, 10. 86-Kyle Beard, 11. 91p-Jason Papich, 12. 42s-Don Shaw, 13. 0-Scott Bloomquist, 14. 11-Pat Doar, 15. 91-Tony Toste, 16. 71rc-R.C. Whitwell, 17. 38-Joey Tanner, 18. 44-Cole Schill, 19. 51-Joey Moriarty, 20. 17-Billy Franklin, 21. 32b-Cody Laney, 22. 32p-Bobby Pierce, 23. 32-Chris Simpson, 24. 75-Terry Phillips, 25. 2s-Stormy Scott.


Final 13th Annual Wild West Shootout Points:

Late Models
1 b5 Brandon Sheppard 361
2 32p Bobby Pierce 341
3 2 Brandon Overton 313
4 97 Cade Dillard 305
5 7 Ricky Weiss 304
6 71 Hudson O’Neal 295
7 0 Scott Bloomquist 288
8 18 Chase Junghans 280
9 86 Kyle Beard 237
10 1p Earl Pearson, Jr. 235
11 28m Jimmy Mars 208
12 1g Garrett Alberson 192
13 32 Chris Simpson 177
14 91p Jason Papich 165
15 71rc R.C. Whitwell 157
16 91 Tony Toste 156
17 42s Don Shaw 152
18 6rt Ricky Thornton, Jr. 151
19 75 Terry Phillips 151
20 51 Joey Moriarty 135
21 2s Stormy Scott 126
22 11 Pat Doar 118
23 7mm Michael Maresca 108
24 32b Cody Laney 77
25 44 Cole Schill 64
26 17 Billy Franklin 42
27 15d Justin Duty 38
28 38 Thomas Hunziker 29
29 10n Rob Sanders 27
30 38 Joey Tanner 21
31 37w Scott Ward 18
32 15v Kolby Vandenbergh 17
33 20v Rece Vaught 15
34 37 Rob Mayea 14
35 76 Blair Northdurft 14
36 28c John Cornell 13
37 14m Dean Moore 12
38 3x Lyndon Bolt 12
39 6T Terry Carter 12
40 7w Richard Wallace 12
41 942 Terry Casey 11
42 78s Steve Stultz 11
43 24 Rick Ortega 10
44 942 Steve Isenberg 10
45 46 Darren Coffell 8
46 83 Dennis Souza 8
47 g17 Jacob Gallardo 6
48 44L Brandon Lewis 6
49 23 Brad Williams 6
50 54 Carlos Ahumada 4
51 28 Jim Whisler 2
52 83 Trevor Anderson 2
53 83 Chaz Baca 2
54 24 Xavier Ortega 2


-Wild West Shootout Press Release

-Photo credit: Tom Macht

Weiss & Sheppard Take Bull by the Horns in Arizona