Rains hit the Golden Sands Speedway (WI) around qualifying time forcing track officials to forgo the qualifying procedure. The decision was then made to only run the heats and features and get Season Championship night completed. With no points awarded for qualifying, which was set by current standings, the tight battles remained the same heading into the heats.

The Super Stocks started off the night with heat 1 which saw Wyatt Brooks (33) take the win. In heat 2, it was pure craziness coming to the checkered flag when contact between race leader Brad Scholze (87) and John Zuch (8) caused them both to spin in turn 4 in front of the whole field. Matt Raykowski (6) was declared the winner, but he was involved in the accident ending his night. Brian Weinfurter (24), the 2014 champion, also suffered heavy damage which left his car without right side body panels. In the feature, it was Matt Pyburn (71) making his way to the front and staying there. Weinfurter was able to run him down, but not able to make a pass finishing 2nd. Wyatt Brooks, John Zuch and Phil Malouf (32) rounded out the top 5. Again, Brian Weinfurter took the championship this year over Matt Pyburn. Phil Malouf, John Zuch and Matt Raykowski. Rachel Kallas (70) picked up Rookie of the Year honors.

The Element Mobile Super Late Models saw Jeff Nowak (79), Chad Devine (54) and Natalie Decker (04) all pick up heat wins. Eugene Gregorich Jr. (14) came into the night 11 points behind Frank Nitzke (18) and he picked up 3 in the heat. So the battle for the championship was on in the feature. Ted Reichenberger (20) was able to get out and lead most of the race until Natalie Decker made a pass within the last few laps to capture the victory. Reichenberger finished 2nd with Eugene Gregorich Jr. sneaking in for 3rd. Dave Neitzke (06) and Darren Jackson (2) were 4th and 5th in the feature. Frank Nitzke ended up 6th, so Gregorich Jr. picked up 11 points in the feature to win the 2014 championship by 3 points. Natalie Decker took 3rd, Mike Egan (44) took 4th and Travis Volm (7-11) took 5th in the standings. Natalie Decker captured the Rookie of the Year title.

In the Rock 94.7 Pure Stock division Kyle Genett (16X) was the point leader with a pretty large advantage over Jake Capek (81). There was 1 heat race and that win went to Scott Ciesielski (72). In the feature, it was Ciesielski and Kyle Genett making contact cutting down the left rear tire on the 16X car. He was able to make repairs though and continue. Travis Volm (76) picked up the feature win over Jake Capek. Ciesielski took 3rd, Karl Genett (16K) 4th and Kyle Genett 5th. Kyle did pick up enough points to win the championship on the year by 31 over Capek. Dean Ashbacher (38), Dan Weinfurter (4), who drove a special tribute paint scheme for Merle Weinfurter (24) friday night and Karl Genett finished out the top 5 in points. Scott Ciesielski took home the Rookie of the Year trophy.

The 4-Cylinder Stock class brought 22 cars to race. The heats were won by Greg Blount (22), Brandon Knoblock (71) and Kelly Sankey (88). Sankey came into the night with a 14 point lead over Dillon Mackesy (93) and extended that in the heat and then gained the max points in the feature picking up the win. Jarrod Dolph (2) took 2nd, Mike Wegner (20) 3rd, Dillon Mackesy 4th and Corey Stephens (3) 5th. Sankey took the championship again this year beating out Mackesy, George Seliger (06), Nikki Coulthurst (17) and Mike Wegner. Jarrod Dolph won Rookie of the Year.

The final event of 2014 at Golden Sands Speedway is set for Saturday, September 13th for the Eve of Devastation. Tickets are available in advance at Terry’s Amoco in Nekoosa, Kwik Trip Stores in Rapids, Plover, & Point, and by calling the Golden Sands Speedway office at (715) 423-4660. Advance tickets are Adults $13 and kids 12yrs and under, $6. At the gate, Adults are $15 and kids 12yrs and under are $10. Time Trials are at 6:30pm with racing set to begin at 7:00pm. Events include Cruiser Championships and 4-Cylinder racing, spectator racing, bumper love, spin to win, a jet powered recliner show, 5th turn race, burn out contest, forwards/backwards racing, MEGASAURUS show, jumps for distance and trailer races. For more information or to register for any of these events visit our website at http://www.gssraces.com.

Story By: Brandon Aschenbrenner – Photos – Jeff Blaser and Blaser Photography.

Wet & Wild Night Tops of Season Championships at Golden Sands