Western Super Series Finale Decided After Last-Lap Penalty

The final race of the 2019-2020 Speed51 Western Super Series presented by J2Racing.Parts season came down to the final lap Tuesday night at the virtual Milwaukee Mile.  In the end, the winner of the race was decided by race officials after video review, while Drew Wooten earned a podium finish to clinch the season championship.


For the second straight week, Maine native Max Cookson was involved in a thrilling last-lap finish.  After winning one week ago at Irwindale Speedway, Cookson found himself in second as the white flag waved Tuesday night at The Milwaukee Mile.  Cookson closed the gap on leader Parker Retzlaff down the backstretch and made a last-ditch effort to steal away the win.  Cookson’s effort resulted in his No. 39 making contact with Retzlaff’s No. 33, sending Retzlaff into the grass in the infield.  Cookson drove away and crossed under the checkered flag first; however, race control reviewed the finish and deemed it to be aggressive driving.


As a result, Retzlaff was credited with the win, while Cookson was relegated back to a second-place finish.


“It was all and all really fun, it just sucks that we couldn’t have had a good finish,” Retzlaff said.  “I just want to thank you guys for putting this whole thing on; Jacob Heafner for being my spotter the whole race.  It was overall really fun, and I plan on coming back.”


Behind the battle for the lead, Drew Wooten brought his No. 2 home in the third position to secure the Western Super Series championship.


“It takes a lot of consistency and a lot of patience to win championships. The biggest moment would probably be my first win at Five Flags in the first race of the season.


“I would like to thank all of the guys who have a hand in this league. It’s an awesome league with a lot of potential and I look forward to running for another championship. Also a huge shoutout to my spotter Greg McKinney for always making the right calls and helping keep me focused behind the wheel.”


To watch a replay of the Western Super Series season finale at The Milwaukee Mile, click here.


Now, with the 2019-2020 Western Super Series season completed, a new season will begin next Tuesday night, January 21 at the virtual Iowa Speedway.  The full 2020 Western Super Series schedule can be found by clicking here.


-Story by: Brandon Paul, Speed51 Content Manager

-Photo credit: Speed51

Western Super Series Finale Decided After Last-Lap Penalty