Wayback Wednesday: The King’s Four Wins on May 20

If you pick a date on the calendar, there is a good chance that “The King” of Sprint Cars, Steve Kinser, has won on that date.  There is also a good chance that he has won more then once on that date as well.  On this particular date, May 20, Steve Kinser has won four times in the past.  Here is a look at those dates:


1980 – On the way to his third-straight World of Outlaws title Steve Kinser won 31 times during the 1980 season, including on this date in 1980 at Grandview Speedway (PA).  This was first ever stop for the series, which visited the track only four times in the 1980s. The track would return briefly in the 90s and again in 2003, where Kinser won three straight at the 1/3-mile facility.


1983 – Away from his normal home, Kinser topped a talented field at Sata Fe Speedway in Hinsdale, Illinois. Kinser led 21 of the 30 laps and beat out Ken Schrader, Jack Hewitt and several others. Kinser would also win World of Outlaws races at this venue in the coming years.


1987 – It was one of those magical seasons when everything went right.  Kinser won 51 times on the Word of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, and on this night he topped then all at the Lernerville Speedway (PA).  It should come as no surprise as he had won at the venue six times before getting this win and another later in the 1987 season.  In his career, Kinser won 20 times at this track.


2007 – The World of Outlaws Pandemonium in the Pinelands at New Egypt Speedway (NJ) was the site of Kinser’s fourth win of the 2007 season.  After passing Jason Sides with 12 laps to go he went on to take the victory.  To our knowledge, this was Kinser’s only win at this venue. Kinser won 10 races that season and was sixth in the final points.


Other Dates 

1979 – Beaver Dragon won a thrilling NASCAR North race at Sanair Super Speedway (QC) over Manie’s Dick McCabe and Claude Aubin.  Ten of the top 11 cars were Chevy Novas.


1995 – Mike Eddy was victorious in the ASA National Tour race at what is now Lucas Oil Raceway Park (IN).  Eddy only won there twice on the tour, once in 1981 and the second in 1995.  The series ran 25 races there and Bob Senneker won six times.


2006 – Brandon Ward pocketed a win at Southern National Motorsports Park on his way to the UARA-Stars Late Model Stock Car title in 2006. Ward beat Ryan Gray and Alex Yontz for the win.


2007 – Scott Hantz won a ARCA/CRA Super Series race at Baer Field Speedway (IN).  This was one of the few bright spots to the 2007 season for Hantz who bookended this year with CRA titles. This was the only win for Hantz on the CRA tour in 2007.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit: Jim Fisher

Wayback Wednesday: The King’s Four Wins on May 20