The 2015 season was all that it needed to be and more for Dylan Ward.  The 2015 Ace Speedway track champion in the Limited Late Model division had one goal left to conquer:  the Mischa Sell Memorial.  Despite strong runs in the past during the event, Ward had never tasted victory.  That all changed when this year’s running ended after a marathon afternoon that featured lots of drama.


“It’s a relief to get the win,” said Ward.  “I know in the past we had the best car and didn’t win.  Tonight we didn’t have the best car at times and we ended up in victory lane.  It’s a great way to end the season.”


The race was littered with yellows and lengthy cautions that forced track officials to pit the cars in order to refuel.


“It was a wild race and I was battling with my brother pretty hard there for a while,” added Ward.  “Boo Boo (Dalton) was tough before he had his problems.  I hated to see that happen to him.”


Dalton led a few laps before mechanical problems ended his race.


Ward created his own drama by taking the challenge to start at the rear from the front row.  A series of yellow flags and the use of a restart cone allowed Dylan Ward to move into the top five by lap 15.  Later he was racing side-by-side with his brother Trevor Ward.  The bad luck bug hit his brother, who failed to come up to speed on a restart triggering a major wreck that took him out of the race.


“I hated to see my brother get torn up,” said Dylan Ward.  “I know we will have to use some of the money we won tonight to fix his car. I was really surprised to see how quickly we got to the front.  I don’t think it could have played out any better.”


The money Ward racked up included $1,500 for the win, $1,000 as the winners bonus, $500 for halfway and $5,000 for the starting at the rear challenge.  That also does not include the lap money that Ward captured for leading the event.


At the finish Ward was ahead of Scott Hall who was second for the third year in a row.  Hall won the first Mischa Sell Memorial in 2012 and has now been on the podium four year in a row.


Other key drivers who didn’t make to the finish included 2015 South Boston Speedway track champion Trey Crews who set fast time but fell out early.  Former race winner Joey Throckmorton qualified in the top five, but was taken out in a crash.


Previous Mischa Sell Memorial Winners

2014 Austin Thaxton

2013 Joey Throckmorton

2012 Scott Hall


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

Ward Wins Wad of Cash in Wild Mischa Sell Memorial