Vores Short Track Challenge Continues Saturday at Angola

The Vores Compact Touring Series makes its next stop on the 2021 season Saturday at Angola Motorsport Speedway for the Vores Cup.  The event serves as race three of the Short Track Challenge.


The top 12 finishers from the season opener at Anderson Speedway were automatically entered into the mini-series.  Two drivers were eliminated after the series’ stop at Shadybowl Speedway on May 1.  Saturday’s event will be the third of five races that will make up the Short Track Challenge.

WATCH LIVE: VCTS Vores Cup at Angola Motorsport Speedway

The objective of the Short Track Challenge is simple – don’t finish the race as one of the last two drivers of those competing in the challenge.


Eight drivers will still be alive for the challenge after Saturday’s race at Angola.  Race four will take place at Kil-Kare Raceway on July 25, while the last six drivers remaining after Kil-Kare will be competing for the Short Track Challenge championship at Ona Speedway on August 21.  The highest finishing driver at Ona will be crowned Short Track Challenge champion.


The remaining drivers in the Short Track Challenge include Tom Gossar, Kyle Frame, Trent Gossar, Chris Jennings, Mark Mason, Harvey Yoder, Brandon Barcus, Ron Sagers, Danny Cascioli and Sean Frederick.


Saturday’s Vores Cup is the series’ biggest race of the season.  The race was first contested at Lucas Oil Raceway in 2014, with Kyle Stark besting a field of 35 cars to take the win.  Toby Wells, Jarrod Saucy, Mark Mason and Terry Eaton also won the Vores Cup while it was held at Lucas Oil.


The race was moved to Toledo Speedway in 2019 after the originally-scheduled date at Lucas Oil was rained out.  Trent Gossar would go on to win.  The race then changed tracks once again, going to Angola last season.  Kyle Stark became the first multi-time winner of the Vores Cup in 2020.


Saturday’s Vores Cup will be VCTS’ fifth points-paying race of the season.  Tom Gossar won the first two events at Anderson and Shadybowl, while Kyle Frame has won the two most recent races at Salem and Anderson.  Frame holds a slim five point lead in the standings over former series champion Chris Jennings, with Gossar sitting just six back from the lead.


Saturday’s Vores Compact Touring Series Vores Cup will be broadcasted live on Speed51.TV.  Click here to watch live.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo

Vores Short Track Challenge Continues Saturday at Angola