Veteran Kicks Up Dust in Texas Dirt Trucks at Cotton Bowl

PAIGE, Texas — Veteran short track racer John Heil put on a clinic over the weekend, wheeling the Rick Pollaro owned No. 96 entry to a convincing victory in the Texas Dirt Truck Series (TDTS) feature on Saturday at the famed Cotton Bowl Speedway.


Heil, of Floresville, started on pole for the 15-lap contest after winning his qualifying heat. Tony Bernal (La Vernia) chased Heil for all he was worth yet settled for second, while Anthony Gordon (San Antonio) filled out the podium in third. Russel Rust (Boerne) and Daniel Gaudette (Cedar Creek) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.


This was Heil’s second TDTS victory after dominating the show at South Texas Speedway in Corpus Christi on Saturday, June 8.


Series point leader Larry Baggett had a rough night at Cotton Bowl, despite being the pre-race favorite. The pride of Marble Falls, Texas struggled with handling issues on his No. 3 machine and took a slight hit in the overall point standings. With just two races remaining, the title is within reach.


La Coste based racer Ryan Doyon, a two-time feature winner on the Texas Dirt Truck Series this season, also had a rough outing at Cotton Bowl. The rising third-generation driver had to battle back from an early spin to finish eighth in the final rundown.


Overall, the long-awaited and highly-anticipated debut of the series at Cotton Bowl was a rousing success. Reaction to the Fan Meet & Greet session was positive, and when track promoter Mary Ann Naumann (MAN Racing Promotions) brought the trucks out with each driver carrying the U.S. Flag during Opening Ceremonies, those Texas race fans gave them a hearty round of applause.


Saturday night’s show at Cotton Bowl delivered some of the most entertaining heats and features seen throughout a highly-competitive season. Points champions were crowned after some great side-by-side battles (typical at Cotton Bowl) to cap the season. The TDTS teams were honored to join the action as part of a very busy program.


Texas Dirt Truck Series owner George Jones would like to thank Cotton Bowl Speedway promoters Mary Ann and H. Naumann for hosting the series, and hope it is the start of a great working relationship for 2020 and beyond. Jones also thanks Matt Leonard of Military Talent Source (MTS) for the valued financial support during this exciting inaugural season. The TDTS is proud to represent you.


Next up for TDTS teams is a return trip to Cotton Bowl for Round 8 on Sunday, October 19, followed by the season finale on Nov. 9 at I-37 Speedway in Pleasanton, Texas. As this inaugural season draws to a close, Jones also extends a huge thank you to those teams who have stuck with the TDTS in 2019. There is promise for the future, thanks to the solid foundation built this year.


To follow the series, go to


-Texas Dirt Truck Series Press Release & Photo

Veteran Kicks Up Dust in Texas Dirt Trucks at Cotton Bowl