WEST HAVEN, VT – The youth movement was put on hold at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Saturday night, May 9, as the two oldest drivers at the speedway ran away at the front of the pack.  Two-time Bond Auto Parts Modified division champion Ron Proctor and long-time racer Leon Gonyo – each of whom turns 62 years old soon – finished 1-2 in the 100-lap main event kick off the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series campaign.

The race was the second of seven events in the two-track “Spring Championship Series” presented by Yandow Sales & Service and John Deere.  Charlton, NY veteran Proctor put on a clinic to win his qualifying heat, the bonus-points semi-feature, and the 100-lapper for a rare “triple crown” win.

Proctor had both a fast car and good fortune.  He was running a close second to leader Bucko Branham at lap 46 when three lapped cars tangled in their path.  Branham spun his car to avoid the crash, but a small electrical fire inside his car during the caution period put him out of the race; he was uninjured.

As racing resumed, new leader Proctor’s biggest worry was lapped traffic.  Gonyo, of Chazy, NY, came from deep in the starting order to second place and closed to within five car lengths of Proctor, but was never able to mount a serious challenge and settled for the runner-up spot.

Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh, NY saw his tough day end well; the winner of the Airborne opener blew an engine during afternoon practice and missed his qualifying heat. After starting 14th in the main event in a backup car, he finished a strong third.  Vermonters Joey Roberts and Vince Quenneville, Jr. rounded out the top five, followed by Greg Atkins, Cody Sargen, rookie Timex Morgan, Jason Durgan, and Jamie LaFountain.

Heywood holds a four-point lead, 109-105, on Atkins heading to the third Spring Championship Series event at Airborne Park Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY on Saturday, May 16.  Quenneville is another two points back at 103, followed by Durgan and Morgan.

Eighteen year-old Brandon Atkins of Au Sable Forks, NY won the 50-lap race for the Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model division.  Atkins held control for most of the race, but was forced to contend with Josh Masterson of Bristol, VT after a late restart.  Atkins used the outside lane to his advantage and went on the win.  Masterson was second ahead of Todd Stone, Robert Bryant, Jr., and 2014 champion Jamie Fisher.

Richie Turner of Fairfax, VT made it two-for-two to open his season by winning the 25-lap feature for the Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep Renegade division; Turner also won the Airborne opener on May 2.  Keith O’Neil of Mooers, NY made his first visit to Devil’s Bowl Speedway count by winning his qualifying heat and taking second place in the feature.  Sixteen year-old Dylan Rabtoy of Swanton, VT nipped Jason McClatchie for third place by less than a foot in a thrilling, fender-banging duel.  Track champion Robert Gordon finished fifth.

Dale O’Neil of Mooers, NY one-upped his father Keith by winning the 15-lap feature for the Portland Glass Mini Stocks, marking his first victory at Devil’s Bowl.  Defending champion Chuck Bradford of Addison, VT finished second ahead of C.J. LaVair, John McCarron, and Jake Noble.

Action resumes at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Saturday, May 23 as Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep presents a 100-lap Renegade race, along with a wild-and-crazy Enduro for strictly stock cars.  Modifieds, Late Models, and Mini Stocks are also on the card, as well as guided pit area tours for the Thomas Dairy Kids Club.  General admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, and free for kids age 12 and under; racing begins at 6:00 p.m.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, VT, four miles north of Exit 2 on U.S. Route 4.  For more information, visit www.DevilsBowlSpeedwayVT.com or call (802) 265-3112.  Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at facebook.com/DevilsBowlSpeedway and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.


UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – 49th Season Opener

Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, VT

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series presented by Yandow Sales & Service and John Deere

Saturday, May 9, 2015


Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature (100 laps)

Pos.-(Start)-Driver-Hometown-Laps Completed

(# – denotes rookie)

  1. (4) Ron Proctor, Charlton, NY – 100
  2. (12) Leon Gonyo, Chazy, NY – 100
  3. (14) Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, NY – 100
  4. (8) Joey Roberts, Fletcher, VT – 100
  5. (9) Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, VT – 100
  6. (3) Greg Atkins, Clintonville, NY – 100
  7. (10) Cody Sargen, Greenfield Center, NY – 100
  8. (1) # Timex Morgan, Plattsburgh, NY – 100
  9. (5) Jason Durgan, Morrisonville, NY – 100
  10. (7) Jamie LaFountain, Plattsburgh, NY – 100
  11. (6) Billy Lussier, Fair Haven, VT – 99
  12. (11) # Allan Hammond, Canaan, NH – 94
  13. (19) # Bob Kilburn, Fair Haven, VT – 93
  14. (13) Jason Furman, Ballston Spa, NY – 81
  15. (18) Jimmy Ryan, Whiting, VT – 55
  16. (15) Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, NY – 46
  17. (2) Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, NY – 46
  18. (16) Jason Bruno, Morrisonville, NY – 24
  19. (17) Dave Snow, Brandon, VT – 9

Heat Winners: Jason Durgan, Ron Proctor, Vince Quenneville, Jr.

Semi-Feature Winner: Ron Proctor

Last Chance Qualifier Winner: Leon Gonyo

Shiley Fabrication Hard Charger Award: Nick Heywood

Shiley Fabrication Hard Luck Award: Bucko Branham

Ingersoll Rand Power Tools Award: Ron Proctor

Rutland Region Chamber of Commerce Best Appearing Car Award: Joey Roberts

Rutland Region Chamber of Commerce “Fans Choice” Best Appearing Car Award: Jason Durgan


Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model Feature (50 laps)


(# – denotes rookie)

  1. (4) Brandon Atkins, Au Sable Forks, NY
  2. (2) Josh Masterson, Bristol, VT
  3. (5) Todd Stone, Middlebury, VT
  4. (3) Robert Bryant, Jr., Brooklyn, CT
  5. (6) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT
  6. (8) Walt Hammond, Jr., Canaan, NH
  7. (7) Seth Bridge, Mendon, VT
  8. (9) Walter J. Hammond, Orange, NH
  9. (11) Chad White, Fort Ann, NY
  10. (1) Richard Lowrey, III, Charlotte, VT
  11. (10) Mark Norris, Benson, VT
  12. (12) Steve Miller, Vergennes, VT

Heat Winners: Brandon Atkins, Josh Masterson

Ingersoll Rand Power Tools Award: Brandon Atkins

Rutland Region Chamber of Commerce Best Appearing Car Award: Seth Bridge


Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep Renegade Feature (25 laps)


(# – denotes rookie)

  1. (3) Richie Turner, Fairfax, VT
  2. (2) Keith O’Neil, Mooers, NY
  3. (7) Dylan Rabtoy, Swanton, VT
  4. (6) Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, NY
  5. (5) Robert Gordon, Milton, VT
  6. (12) Scott FitzGerald, West Rutland, VT
  7. (8) # Matt Monaghan, Colchester, VT
  8. (1) Zach Rabtoy, Fairfax, VT
  9. (9) Jared Blake, North Hero, VT
  10. (10) # Shawn Franklin, Waitsfield, VT
  11. (11) Tony Putzier, Jericho, VT
  12. (4) Keith Pelkey, Clintonville, NY

Heat Winners: Keith O’Neil, Robert Gordon

Bond Auto Parts Hard Charger Award: Scott FitzGerald

Ingersoll Rand Power Tools Award: Richie Turner

Rutland Region Chamber of Commerce Best Appearing Car Award: Scott FitzGerald


Portland Glass Mini Stock Feature (15 laps)


(# – denotes rookie)

  1. (1) Dale O’Neil, Mooers, NY
  2. (6) Chuck Bradford, Addison, VT
  3. (3) C.J. LaVair, Saranac Lake, NY
  4. (2) John McCarron, Rensselaer, NY
  5. (4) Jake Noble, Benson, VT
  6. (5) Harold LaVair, Jr., Gabriels, NY
  7. (7) Andrew FitzGerald, West Rutland, VT
  8. (8) Kyle Sorensen, Ballston Spa, NY
  9. (9) # Bradley Bertrand, Ferrisburgh, VT
  10. (10) Tyler Irwin, Peru, NY

Heat Winner: Dale O’Neil

Bond Auto Parts Hard Charger Award: Chuck Bradford

Rutland Region Chamber of Commerce Best Appearing Car Award: Andrew FitzGerald


-Devil’s Bowl Press Release.  Photo Credit: Dave Dalesandro/RaceProWeekly.com

Veteran Drivers Dominate Devil’s Bowl Season Opener