COEBURN, Va. — Kres VanDyke kicked the 2016 season off at Lonesome Pine Raceway by claiming the victory in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car division.


VanDyke and Stacey Compton battled back and forth throughout the entire event. The duo swapped the lead four times over the span of 60 laps.


VanDyke and Compton started on the front row and battke side by side to open the feature.


Compton would work to the inside of VanDyke on lap 11 at the exit of turn four to take over the top spot. VanDyke would battle back on the outside with Hale in tow from third place.


VanDyke would pull back to the lead on the inside of Compton to retake the lead on lap 17.


The race’s only caution would wave on lap 58 for an incident in turns one and two.


Back under green, VanDyke would race back into the lead over Compton with Hale battling hard for second. VanDyke would take the checkered with Compton taking the second position by a nose over Hale.


“The car was real good all day; fast, said Kres VanDyke. “We led most all of the practices except for the last one that Stacey Compton led.”


VanDyke said that it was great to race with a local great like Compton.


“It was exciting to get to race one of the local legends in Stacey.”


“All of the other competition looks like they’ve done their homework over the winter. It feels great to be back in Victory Lane. The fans are excited, and it’s good to be over at Lonesome Pine (Raceway); this is where we got started.”


“Thanks to all of our crew, sponsors, the Stiltner family, (general manager) Karen Tunnell, my family, and God,” added VanDyke.


Chris Tunnell qualified on the pole for the season’s first Modified Street race.


Tunnell and Jared Broadbent battled side by side until lap four, when Tunnell cleared the No. 74. Elby Harrison worked passed Broadbent for the second position on lap 26, but did not have enough time to catch Tunnell.


Tunnell led every lap of the feature, his first victory at “The Pine” in over two years.


John Ketron was on the pole position for the 25-lap Pure 4 race.


Ketron dominated the entire race, leading every lap to take the checkered. Jason Ketron, Michael Nelson, Billy Ketron, and Jackie Jackson completed the top five.


Rocky Yates dominated all 25 laps of Mod 4 feature to take the victory.


Yates took jumped to the lead on the opening lap over second place Billy Duty, with Duty under pressure from Freddie Taylor Jr. in third.


The first caution of the race would wave on lap 14 when Duty’s car when up in smoke on the backstretch.


On the restart, Yates would jump back to the lead but the caution would wave one lap later when Jason Yates spun at the exit of turn four. With the green flag back in the air, Yates would jump back to the lead and go on to take the win.


Marty Tunnell took the lead to start the 20-lap Pure Street feature.


The caution waved on lap 17 when Jamie Meadows spun on the frontstretch out of second place. Back under green, Tunnell retook the lead and led the remaining three laps to claim the win.


Carter Davidson won the season-opening Bandelero feature.


-Lonesome Pine Raceway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Lonesome Pine Raceway

VanDyke Takes First Lonesome Pine LMSC Feature of 2016