Nearly three days after Kres VanDyke celebrated his weekend sweep in victory lane at Lonesome Pine Raceway, he was officially awarded the victory Tuesday evening.

Lance Gatlin qualified on the pole for the 125-lap Independence Clash LMSC race.

With the green flag waving, Gatlin would place his No. 52 machine out front. Lap-by-lap, Gatlin would extend his lead until lap 53 when the first caution waved for debris on the back-straightaway.

Gatlin would again take the lead on the restart and continued to lead passed the halfway point in the race over Brian Blevins and Lee Tissot.

With 40 laps remaining, Kres VanDyke had worked his way from the rear of the field to second-place and began to reel-in Gatlin.

Trouble on the backstretch involving Adam Gray slowed the field again as the yellow flag was displayed. Back under green, Gatlin and VanDyke battled door-to-door for the lead, Gatlin on the inside lane was not giving up as VanDyke battled back on the outside.

VanDyke would work his way around Gatlin exiting turn two on lap 109. A caution on lap 118 set the field for a seven-lap fight to the finish. VanDyke would again work his way around Gatlin on the restart to score his second win of the weekend.

Rob Austin powered to the lead over Jared Broadbent to open the Street Stock feature.

Tucked in on Austin’s rear bumper was the No. 3 of Kirby Gobble. Contact between Sam Hurd and Doug Austin sent both cars around in turn two and forced the yellow flag to be displayed.

Working the restart, Gobble would take over the lead and lead to remaining laps to capture his fifth victory.

Rocky Yates pulled to the lead over David Brown on the first circuit in the Mod-4 race and never relinquished the lead to claim the victory. Joshua Gobble and Billy Duty would rounded out the top-three.

Billy Ketron worked through the Pure-4 field from fourth-place to take over the lead on lap three.

Ketron would drive his No. 26 to his second win of the season.

Mook Jeter took the lead to start the 15-lap Rookie Pure-4 feature. The caution waved on lap one for a two-car spin in turn four.

Marty Shouse took the top spot on the restart as Rusty Clendenin had worked his way through the field to take the lead on the fourth circuit. Clendenin would go on to record his third win of the season.



July 5, 2014 Results:

1. 15 Kres VanDyke
2. 52 Lance Gatlin
3. 7 Lee Tissot
4. 19 Chad Finchum
5. 31 Thomas Beane
6. 22 Ryan Stiltner
7. 38 Zack Walton
8. 97 Brian Blevins
9. 17 Kevin Wolfe
10. 37 Adam Gray
11. 5 Ronnie McCarty
12. 75 Jenna Wagner
13. 35 Sam Steffey
14. 76 Jamie Harrison
DNS 44 Jody Bostic

Street Stock:
1. #3 Kirby Gobble; 2. #25 Rob Austin; 3. #74 Jared Broadbent; 4. #6 Chris Tunnell; 5. #21 Doug Austin; 6. #8 Jared Bruner; 7. #11 Sam Hurd; 8. #11 Jamie Meadows; 9. #48 Paul Shull; 10. #5 Joe Evans

1. #3 Rocky Yates; 2. #8 Joshua Gobble; 3. #45 Billy Duty; 4. #31 Carey Brown; 5. #22 Brian Hunt; 6. #36 Evan Sheets; 7. #13 David Brown; 8. #77 Mike Brooks; 9. #2 Duke Bare

1. #26 Billy Ketron; 2.#28 Jason Ketron; 3. #27 John Ketron 4. #16 Jackie Jackson; 5. #94 Mitch Gibson; 6. #22 Jason Yates; 7. #44 BC Penley; 8. #06 Bill Livesay; 9. #14 Jonathan Feagins; 10. #27m Mark Meade; 11. #88 Dan Hall; 12. #6 Bill Meade

Rookie Pure-4:
1. #94 Rusty Clendenin; 2. #53 Mook Jeter; 3. #44 Marty Shouse; 4. #11 Jackson Austin; 5. #16 Michael Nelson; 6. #27 Christopher Meade; 7. #01 Jack Clevenger; 8. #5 BJ Large; 9. #06 William Jones; 10. #88 James Gailey

– Lonesome Pine Raceway Release.  Photo credit: Drew Hierwater/

VanDyke Sweeps Independence Clash Weekend at Lonesome Pine