A family reunion erupted on the frontstretch at Sandusky Speedway this past Saturday night after Tyler Shullick won the shortened Top Speed ICAR Modified Tour race.

For the 18-year-old, this was his biggest win in his career.

“It is just awesome to get my third Modified win in my career at my home track,” the Sandusky, Ohio resident said. “My dad, Pat Shullick, has won many races here and it feels great to win here. This is big for the entire family and friends and I am glad that they were all here to celebrate it.”

Tyler Shullick gets hugs from his family after his big win at Sandusky Speedway. (Speed51.com photo)

Tyler Shullick gets hugs from his family after his big win at Sandusky Speedway. (Speed51.com photo)

The race was scheduled for 50 laps but a three-hour rain delay forced officials to shorten the event to 25 laps. The green flag waves at 12:34am on Sunday morning.

Shullick wasn’t surprised that the race was cut short.

“I wasn’t surprised. I was more happy that we got to race,” Shullick said. “As soon as we found out that it was going to be 25 laps, we went and made adjustments on the car because it was set up for 50 laps. We made the changes and it worked for us.”

Shullick would get the lead from Chad Poole just past the halfway mark of the event.

“I was really focused on getting around the lapped cars and not make any mistakes,” Shullick said. “This was a big payoff for my crew, family and friends who stayed up late to watch the race.”

Shullick, who is a fabricator at ThorSports, had a relaxing celebration party after the race.

“We went home and had a big bonfire,” Shullick said. “Not only was our family and friends were there, but some of the people I work with at ThorSports.”

Travis Eddy, son of former ASA Champion Mike Eddy, was second with Poole in third. Dave Dobbins and Kenny Sharp rounded out the top five.

The Top Speed ICAR Modified Tour is back in action this Saturday, August 2nd at Springport Motor Speedway in Springport, Michigan.


Top Speed ICAR Modified Tour

Sandusky Speedway


1. Tyler Shullick

2. Travis Eddy

3. Chad Poole

4. Dave Dobbins

5. Kenny Sharp

6. Jeff Amsdale

7. Joseph Morisette Jr.

8. Jason Drew

9. Joe Shannon

10. Craig Phillips

11. Mark Bott

12. Stephen Klinect

13. John Barlome

14. Kenny Calhoun

15. JR Karl

16. Joey Wyckoff

17. Bob Sibila

18. Melvin Klein

19. Dan Logan

20. Steve Jones

21. Samuel Tanner

22. Ryan Cypher

23. Brad Copen

24. Greg Sharp

25. Justin Hamilton

Tyler Shullick Shines in Top Speed Modifieds At Sandusky