Two Laps, Three Leaders in Rowdy Finish at The Bullring 

The Rowdy Energy Super Select Series saw a wild finish for the third time in four races Saturday night at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  Three different drivers had the lead at times on the final lap, with eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series regular Alex McCollum getting back to the checkered first to score his second win of the season.


Lucas Oil Raceway winner Kaden Honeycutt held the lead as they took the white flag.  He would be shoved up the track by Parker Retzlaff in turns one and two, with Retzlaff taking the lead and Honeycutt falling to fourth.  Retzlaff would have the favor repaid to him by McCollum in the final corner, with McCollum moving Retzlaff out of the way for the win.


Having held the race lead prior to the final green-white-checkered restart, the gloves were off for McCollum, who expected nothing different from his competitors.


“You’re going for a win here, anybody’s going to do anything for a win.  I knew Kaden (Honeycutt) was going to be aggressive but he was going to do it clean,” McCollum said on the Speed51 broadcast.  “He gave me a shove in three and was able to save it.  I saw Parker (Retzlaff) had a big run on Kaden so I checked up.  Parker moved Kaden, crossed him up, and went under him and used him up.”


McCollum started 11th in the 150-lap event by virtue of his win at USA International Speedway two weeks ago.  He wasted little time getting to the front, taking the lead from Retzlaff on lap 63. He was the class of the field until that final restart, where it was mayhem from the drop of the final green flag.


“That was a really good race, we had to start 11th because previous winners had to start worse than tenth.  We quickly got up to fourth and I knew we had to get up to the lead.  Overall, it was a really good race.”


It was a race McCollum heavily prepared for in the days leading up to Saturday night’s race.  The practice showed, with him leading the most laps and pulling away on a long green flag run in the late stages of the race.


“Even going into this week I felt really strong.  I did a 190-lap run, I don’t know why I did it but I felt like it helped me here a lot. I’ve been struggling with the Supers in the long run, I felt like.  I think it showed tonight when we had that green flag run.”


Retzlaff did everything he had to do to put himself in the lead on the final lap after starting on the outside of row one for the final restart, but a last-corner move by McCollum would force him to settle for second.  He took the lead after moving Kaden Honeycutt up the track in turn one, a move he ultimately felt like costed him the race.


“I didn’t mean to get into Kaden into turn one but I did it.  I don’t know, I think it lost me the race,” Retzlaff said.  “I had a lot of speed on the long runs to compete with McCollum but he was so far ahead that nobody was going to catch him.  We had a yellow there and I couldn’t get to the bottom, being on the top just screws you.”


ARCA Menards Series East competitor Mason Diaz snuck through the last-lap carnage mid-pack to score a third place finish, with Honeycutt and Max Cookson rounding out the top five.


The Rowdy Energy Super Select Series heads to Southern National Motorsports Park next week. Click here to watch a replay of Saturday night’s race at the Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


To see past results as well as upcoming events for the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series powered by Speed51, click here.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3


Rowdy Energy Super Series powered by Speed51 Results

The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway


11Alex McCollum
242Parker Retzlaff
324Mason Diaz
410Kaden Honeycutt
539Max Cookson
609Chris Dilbeck
726Travis Braden
876Cayden Lapcevich
923Denny Hamlin
1043Daniel Dye
1135Greg VanAlst
12109John Peters
13112Devon Morgan
148Rafe Slate
154Raphael Lessard
1654Rodney Childers
1772Ryan Kuhn
18077Riley Stenjem
1951Kyle Busch
2069Stephen Nasse
2120Anthony Sergi
2252Brittney Zamora
2340Carson Hocevar
2499Layne Riggs
25151Sammy Smith
2646Cole Williams
2767Colin Allman
2874Chris Gabehart
299Derek Kraus
3021Kole Raz
3178Corey Heim
32114Connor Okrzesik
3381Giovanni Bromante

Two Laps, Three Leaders in Rowdy Finish at The Bullring