Canaan, NH. – The Valenti Modified Racing Series wraps up it’s July schedule Friday night, July 22, with a stop at New Hampshire’s Lee USA Speedway, for 100-laps of ground pounding open-wheel modified racing. The race, the ninth of the season for the VMRS, will be the first of two appearances for the series. They will return in the fall for the annual Oktoberfest at Lee.


Friday the series drivers will compete in Twin 50-Lap features, the same concept as last year at Lee, the only difference is each race will carry it’s own payoff and points, as it did last month at Oxford, ME.


The double 50-lap races debuted last year at Lee, and other tracks like Oxford and Beech Ridge in Maine jumped in and tried the different format with all three venues liking the idea. Fans and drivers also echoed their approval.


Jon McKennedy, of East Chelmsford, MA, takes a 74-point lead to ‘New Hampshire’s Center of Speed’ over Mike Willis, Jr, of Grantham, New Hampshire. Chris Pasteryak, of Jewett City, CT., Woody Pitkat, of Sturbridge, MA. and Russ Hersey, of Swanzey, NH., making up the top-five in the standings. All with the exception of Pitkat will compete at Lee.


Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, CT, who scored his first win of the season two weeks ago at Claremont, will pilot the #52 car of owner Dan Stebbins, for the second consecutive race.


Richard Savary, of Canton, MA, is a 6-time series winner with two of those wins at Lee. The second-generation driver is expected Friday night.


Veterans Russ Hersey, George Sherman, Todd Patnode and Kevin Ianarelli have indicated they’ll compete. Branden Dion, Rookie of the Year contender Colbey Fournier, Long Islander David Schneider, and Geoff Gernhard, indicate they’ll be Lee-bound Friday.


Racing begins at 7:00 PM with VMRS heat races leading off the program.


Lee Notes: Les Hinckley with four leads the all-time win list at Lee. Kirk Alexander, McKennedy, Tommy Barrett, Jim Boniface, Jimmy Dolan, Tony Ricci, Louie Mechalides, Andy Seuss, Eddie Dachenhausen, Jimmy Kuhn, Ken Barry, Steve Masse, Rowan Pennink, Richard Savary, and Chris Pasteryak, have visited Victory Lane at Lee.


Lee was an original track on the schedule when the series started 13 years ago.


This season owners Red and Judy MacDonald are celebrating their 30th year of operation.


-Valenti Modified Racing Series Press Release. Photo credit: Ibsen

Twin 50s on Tap for Modified Racing Series at Lee