(Fredericton, NB,)  Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) won his second race of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour season Saturday night at Speedway 660 in Geary, New Brunswick. Turple, a two-time series champion, inherited the lead on Lap 72 when then leader Shawn Tucker (Fredericton, NB) was relegated to the back of the field after jumping his third restart of the caution filled race. Tucker managed to make his way back to finish third behind John Flemming (Halifax, NS), who also came from the back of the field after a flat tire forced him to pit in the first half of the event. Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) and Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) dodged a last lap melee in turn three to take the fourth and fifth place spots at the finish.

To start the day, Blenkhorn became a four- time Atlantic Tiltload Time Trial Winner after a quick 13.635 second lap. It was Flemming that earned the right to start the Main Feature on the pole after crossing the line first in the King Freight Dash For Cash. Two exciting Dartmouth Dodge Heat Races determined the starting positions for the remainder of the field which saw Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE) best Turple  on a last lap pass and Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB) win a three wide battle to the checkers over Matt Harris (Fredericton Junction, NB) and Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS). Tucker led 51 laps to take home the Linde Most Laps Led Award. Turple improved his starting position by 8 spots to take the Exide Batteries Hard Charger Award.

After five events, Flemming will maintain the point lead by five points over Tucker. Turple, Blenkhorn, and Proude complete the top five in the standings after leaving Speedway 660.

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is back in action next Saturday, July 19 at Riverside International Speedway for the first extended feature of the 2014 season – The IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis Auto Body. Tickets are available to purchase now at www.riversidespeedway.ca. Visit www.maritimeprostocktour.com for complete event details and coverage.

Series PR – Photo Credit: Team Facebook

Race Results

Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 100
Speedway 660

Click here for printable version…

Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 0 Shawn Turple 100 Dexter Construction / Municipal Group Enfield, NS
2 97 John Flemming 100 Dartmouth Dodge / Alpine Auto Glass Halifax, NS
3 52 Shawn Tucker 100 Tucker Racing Products Fredericton, NB
4 67 Dylan Blenkhorn 100 Blenkhorn’s Auto Recyclers, / The Cat Shack Truro, NS
5 5 Jonathan Hicken 100 Castle Building Centres Brudenell, PE
6 99 Craig Slaunwhite 100 Halifax Glass and Mirror / Archibald Drilling & Blasting Terence Bay, NS
7 87 Matt Harris 100 Matt Harris & Son Ltd Fredericton Junction, NB
8 8 Kent Vincent 100 Vector Aerospace Crapaud,PE
9 32 Sarah McKay 100 AE McKay Builders Ltd Quispamsis, NB
10 48 Dave O’Blenis 100 Irving Blending & Packaging / Burger King Boundary Creek, NB
11 88m Kevin Moore 100 D.H. Development Fredericton, NB
12 29 Greg Proude 100 Atlantic Dodge Dealers Springvale, PE
13 18 Darren MacKinnon 98 Shaw’s Towing Service / MacKinnon Bros Service Milton Station, PE
14 14 Terry Dougay 98 Right on Board Locksmith / Wayne’s Auto Mart Albany, PE
15 53 Cole Butcher 76 Atlantic Tiltload Ltd / Irving Blending & Packaging Porter’s Lake, NS
16 21 Shawn Pierce 62 Hercules SLR / South Shore Speed and Sound Blockhouse, NS
17 03h Steve Halpin 55 AJ Malette & Sons Saint John, NB

Failed to Qualify: 0
Number of Cautions: 16
King Freight Dash Winner: #97 John Flemming
Dartmouth Dodge Heat Winners: #18 Darren MacKinnon, #48 Dave O’Blenis
Linde Most Laps Led: #52 Shawn Tucker
Atlantic Tiltload Fast Time: #67 Dylan Blenkhorn (13.635 seconds)
Exide Batteries Hard Charger Award: #0 Shawn Turple

Turple Grabs Maritime Pro Stock Tour Win at 660