PORTAGE, Wis. — The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series begins the second half of its 2016 season this Sunday at State Park Speedway in Wausau, Wis., with Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes. Just as in the previous three races, the entry list is full of contenders for the win.


The contingent of TUNDRA Travelers is led by the ultra-consistent Casey Johnson. With two Seconds and a Third Place finish, Johnson has seized the point lead by a healthy 49 points over Dalton Zehr. Aside from his prowess in TUNDRA this season Johnson has been pushing for a pair of Championships in the Chase Motorsports machine at Wisconsin International Raceway on Thursday nights. In the Fox River Racing Club Thursday night standings he is just 13 points out of the top spot. He leads the Red, White and Blue points by 11 markers, and has the chance to seal that title Thursday night.


Johnson did not join the TUNDRA series at State Park last season, but did score a Sixth Place finish in the Midwest Tour event at the facility in May. He finished one spot ahead of Zehr.


A visit to Wausau could bode well for the two-time and reigning TUNDRA Champion as he looks for a three-peat. Zehr has visited Victory Lane at State Park already this season and is the defending winner of the TUNDRA event. After his win at LaCrosse in July, Zehr has continued his momentum, including capturing the track Championship at Golden Sands Speedway last Friday.


The Third Place team in TUNDRA points will have a new look to it come Sunday. Travis Dassow competed in Rounds One through Three and will turn over driving duties to TUNDRA’s newest mom, Kelsey Dassow. The Dassows welcomed son Easton in April.


Behind the team of Dassow and Dassow there is a tight battle from Fourth through Seventh with just 22 points separating Terry Schoppenhorst from Ryan Farrell. Jordan Thiel, coming off a strong finish at LaCrosse sits Fifth in the standings, sitting just ahead of Sixth Place Bobby Kendall. Among those drivers, Thiel has the most experience at State Park. He competed in the Detjens Memorial two weekends ago, but was out of the race early after getting caught up in an accident. Schoppenhorst and Kendall were not a part of the event last season. Farrell finished 15th.


Another driver who is part of the TUNDRA contingent who will be looking for a strong day to bounce back is Brandon Selle. Selle captured a strong Fourth Place finish last season at State Park and again enjoyed a solid qualifying effort at the facility in the Detjens. However, bad luck continued to plague the 98 team as they experienced a DNF. A strong run Sunday could help catapult the team up the charts over the second half of 2016.


Although the TUNDRA cars will have points in mind, they will have to fight off a pair of strong local competitors. Multiple time State Park Speedway Champion Mark Mackesy and rising star Derek Kraus are expected to mix up the field on Sunday. Kraus became the youngest winner of the Detjens Memorial with a masterful run through the 125-lap event two weekends ago. Kraus impressed in his TUNDRA debut at LaCrosse with an Eighth Place finish after winning the last chance race.


Mackesy enjoyed a solid Third Place finish in the Detjens. He finished Seventh in last year’s TUNDRA race at State Park Speedway.


Among some of the other visiting drivers include 2014 TUNDRA Rookie of the Year Reagan May, 2016 Kulwicki Driver Development Member Michael Ostdiek, and Erin Schlough. May has captured past wins and strong runs at State Park in the past. Ostdiek is coming off a Big 8 Series win during the 2016 Detjens. Schlough will be piloting the Wayne Brevik owned 7-11 which has feature wins at Wausau with Zehr behind the wheel. Minnesota’s Kyle Hansen is also expected to make his first TUNDRA appearance of 2016 after limited action in 2015.


The TUNDRA Super Late Model Series will be joined by the Midwest Truck Series, Sportsman, and Vintage. Fan Gates open at 2 P.M., Qualifying is scheduled for 3 and the race program for Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes begins at 5 P.M.


-TUNDRA Super Late Models Press Release

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com


Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes
State Park Speedway – Sunday, August 14, 2016
Expected Entry List as of 8/10/16 (27)
# – Driver, Hometown
00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI
2 – Darren Jackson [R], Wisconsin Rapids, WI
2 – Jordan Thiel, Appleton, WI
4 – Rob Maynor, Hartland, WI
7 – Kelsey Dassow, West Bend, WI
9 – Braison Bennett [R], Neenah, WI
9 – Derek Kraus, Stratford, WI
11 – Bobby Kendall, Montello, WI
12 – Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI
12 – Terry Schoppenhorst, Berlin, WI
17 – Scott Hoffman, Menominee MI
18 – Jordan Ives, Gladstone, MI
18 – Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN
22 – Kyle Hansen, Lakeville, MN
31 – Nick Barstad, Prior Lake, MN
31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, WI
33 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, WI
33 – Reagan May, West De Pere, WI
38 – Toby Rott, Mukwonago WI
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Portage, WI
47 – Casey Johnson , Edgerton, WI
78 – Wyatt Blashe, Clintonville, WI
81 – Bryan Syer-Keske, Lakeville, MN
89 – Ryan Farrell, East Troy, WI
98 – Brandon Selle, Dale, WI
119 – Dalton Zehr, Somewhereville, ID
711 – Ernie Schlough, Greenwood, WI

TUNDRA Series Releases Entry List for State Park