Tucson, Az– The Komen race last week proved a huge success for Tucson Speedway. Not only did the track donate 100% of admission proceeds to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation totaling $5,300 but they convinced thousands of fans to wear pink in honor of the event.

The atmosphere was phenomenal and must have drawn more fans to the speedway. Upwards of 5,000 people filled the grandstands, making it difficult to find a seat the following week for the “Southwest Smokeless” Night at the races.

Sahuaro High School marching band made an appearance to perform the National Anthem and play for fans during the meet and greet.

Super Late Model Division had a good run in the feature 50 lap race. Ron Searle Jr. led the field into the first turn of the main event but fell into fifth by lap six with Ron Norman on his tail. Paladenic in first, goes into the tenth lap with a good lead on the rest of the field but falls into third after a restart from a small collision.

Matt Levin took over the lead on lap 14 and held it until he stole the checkered flag on lap 50. Ron Norman fought his way to second by lap 40. Following Levin and Norman to the finish was Paladenic third, Brandon Schilling fourth, and Ron Searle Jr. in fifth.

Bob Cramb led the Modifieds to the finish in the 25 lap main event. He made his way from eighth place and stole first from Loren Sheffield after racing neck and neck for 4 laps. Cramb gained a half track lead on the rest of the field by the finish followed later by Sheffield in second, Keith Lopez third, Glenn Littrell fourth, and David Levitt fifth.

With a field of 16, John Nahoopii led the Pro Stock drivers around the first turn. He wasn’t able to hold position though. Kalvin Katlin made his way from fifth to first place and Nahoopii from first to fifth place by lap 3. Katlin was able to gain a good lead on the field but a yellow flag forced the drivers together on restart. Ken Hunt collided with Brian O’Brien rendering O’brien’s car inoperative and sending Hunt to the back of line up. Katlin held first until the finish followed by Sandra Kirby, 15 year old national go-kart champion and winner of the bomber race on Friday.

In third place came Ray Mros, Jason Davis fourth, and after making his way back up the field, Ken Hunt fifth.

Hornet division sustained some damage, not to the cars though. Carlos Giordanelli won again for his fourth win. Upon finishing the race, he was informed there was a claim on his car. For $500, a driver on the lead lap, Ryan Pagano, switched cars with Giordanelli, causing a small heap of frustration. Giordanelli can claim his car back on the next race though, should he win driving the swap car. The stakes have risen for the Hornet Division.

Only two legend cars entered the track on Saturday, Robert Scott and Blake Leuth respectively held first and second for the entire 10 lap event. Four Bandolero drivers raced to the finish as well with Austin Snyder in first, Logan Heath second, car number 04 (no check in) third, and Dominick Adams fourth.

Racing resumes on Saturday October 18th, for “Coke Fan Appreciation Night” sponsored by Rock KFMA radio. Late Models, Pro Stocks, Modifieds, and Hornets will return to the track

Tickets become available online at tucsonspeedway.com on Monday, October 6, or at the gate on October 18th. Gates open for the general public at 5 p.m. Qualifying starts at 5:15, and fans can meet their favorite drivers and see what they race in at 6:15 p.m. for the meet and greet out on the track. The six lap heat races begin at 7:00 and main events start at 8:30.

Track PR – Red Hawk Photo

Tucson Speedway Presents “Southwest Smokeless” Night at the Races