Salem, IN – The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS will be back in action this Saturday at Baer Field Motorsports Park located just south of Fort Wayne, Indiana. Saturday’s event will be the series 16th all-time event at Baer Field Motorsports Park. Terry Fisher Jr. won the series first ever event at Baer Field in 2006, and won again in 2016. Tony Dager and Steve Minich Jr. have each won three series events at Baer Field. Chad Richardson has won two series events at Baer Field. Single event winners include the late Al Cook Jr., Billy Hutson, Zach Hulvey, Jason Atkinson and Tommy Cook, who won the series event on June 23rd.


Saturday’s event is the Championship event of the Triple Crown Series for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman, which featured three $2000 to win events and a point fund that will pay the Triple Crown Champion $1000. There will also be two random draw winners for $500 each from all teams that have attended all three Triple Crown events. The Triple Crown Series opened up at Mt. Lawn Speedway on Sunday, July 1st, were Jeff Marcum came away with the win. Marcum went back to victory lane in the second Triple Crown event at Anderson Speedway on July 14th.


The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman kicked off their 2018 season at Mt. Lawn Speedway, on May 27th were Danny Trent went to victory lane. The series second event was contested on Saturday, June 23rd at Baer Field Motorsports Park were Cook got the win. The third and fourth events of the season were the two Triple Crown events that Marcum won. Marcum made it three series wins in a row on July 28th at Anderson Speedway.


Series rookie Chris Shannon comes into Saturday’s event as the series Championship point’s leader. Tony Brutti is into second place, he is now only four points behind Shannon. Rookie Zachary Tinkle is in third place, he is 19 points behind Brutti. 2007 series Champion Billy Hutson is now in fourth place, with Neil McClelland in fifth place.


Marcum leads the Triple Crown Series points with 200 points with his two wins. Hutson is second in Triple Crown Series points, he is 15 points behind Marcum. Shannon and Brutti are tied for third place, they are five points behind Hutson. Ronnie Rose is in fifth place, he is eight points behind Shannon and Brutti.


A new Chase format to determine a series champion was first successfully used in all CRA divisions in 2017 and is being used again for the 2018 season. Similar to the top levels of racing now and all major sports, CRA will utilize a regular season of events to determine those who are eligible to compete in the post season Chase for a championship. Saturday’s event is the last regular season event before the final four Chase events to determine the 2018 series Champion.


Prior to the start of the final four races, the top eight teams in wins (then points) that have attended 70% of the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman events are eligible for the Chase. The series events at Winchester Speedway on September 3rd, Anderson Speedway on September 15th and Lucas Oil Raceway on September 30th will determine the final four teams that will race in the October 13th series event for the 2018 series Championship on Winchester 400 Weekend. Prior to the October 13th event the top four Chase Teams in wins (the points) during the three Chase events prior will be the final four to compete for the Championship.  


Marcum, with his victories, is locked into the top eight teams to start the Chase if he races in Saturday’s event. Right now Shannon, Brutti, Tinkle, Hutson, McClelland, Rose, Kent Carson, Tony Brunke, Brandon Varney, Shawn Amor, Shawn Bonar and Buddy Davis are also currently eligible for the Chase by points.


There will be an open practice on Friday at Baer Field Motorsports Park from 5 to 8pm. Pit Gates open on Saturday at 11:30am. Practice will begin at 1:15pm, qualifications will begin at 4:15pm. The race program will begin at 6:30pm and will include the 75 lap Triple Crown Series Championship event for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman. Also racing Saturday will be the Baer Field Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, Outlaw FWD’s and Stock FWD’s.


More event and track information can be found at


Information on all the CRA Series is available at


-CRA Racing Press Release. Photo Credit:

Triple Crown Series Event up Next for CRA Late Model Sportsman