Youth and experience were well represented as The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway closed its 2014 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series points season in storybook fashion Saturday night.

Chris Trickle, a 14-year-old racer with seemingly unlimited potential, earned his first NASCAR Super Late Model feature win in only his third start in the division while 47-year-old Scott Gafforini clinched his fifth track championship with a second-place finish in the 50-lap main event.

“This is special,” Gafforini said of his fifth championship. “Five championships is a pinnacle in anybody’s career. To earn it at this tough of a racetrack against the type of young talent we’ve got out here is just wonderful.

“It was a challenging race. I think I had the better car on the long runs, we just ran out of laps. About seven laps, eight laps into a run, this thing just became a rocket ship – like it always does.”

Gafforini scored six feature wins en route to the championship this season in his 17-year-old car. He plans to debut a new car either at The Bullring’s Open Comp in three weeks or to start the 2015 season.

“You’re going to have some good, clean, strong racing next year and I’m really looking forward to that,” he said. “We’ll have a new chassis from Howe and a brand-new J&S motor so it should be pretty hard for those guys to keep up with us – I hope.”

Trickle ran in the top three for much of the first 15 laps and pulled into second place behind race leader Jimmy Parker Jr. on lap 16. He kept up with Parker and finally squeezed past him in the second turn on lap 44. Trickle then did some of his most masterful racing of the night in the final six laps when he held off Gafforini to the checkered flag.

Although Trickle said he never doubted his ability, he admitted he didn’t expect his first victory in the feature class to come this soon.

“This is crazy,” Trickle said. “I didn’t expect to be in Victory Lane this early. I’m a 14-year-old kid racing against Gafforini, a champion. This is a one-of-a-kind moment; I’m so happy and I couldn’t do it without (the help of grandfather and car owner Chuck Trickle).”

Gafforini came into the evening with a 23-point lead over David Anderson, who was wrecked on lap 39 while running seventh. Steve Anderson, David’s father, finished third, Dennis Rock Jr. was fourth and Dallas Montes was fifth.

Jason Kiser came into Bullring Championship Night with a 21-point lead over five-time champion Phil Goodwin but took all the suspense out of the points battle by leading the final 21 laps of the 25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature and wrapping up the championship with his fourth win of the season.

Court Connell posted his second NASCAR Bomber victory of the season and Martin Sullins finished fourth in the 25-lap feature and clinched the season points championship.

Aaron McMorran won the 30-lap NASCAR Grand American Modified feature after grabbing the lead from Jason Irwin with eight laps remaining. Irwin finished third and won the track championship.

Ian Anderson won his fifth Thunder Car main event and Chris Bosley finished second and clinched the track championship.

In Legend Cars, Peyton Saxton (Pro), Michael Todd Glazier (Masters), Devin Lane (Semi-Pro) and Jordan Dean (Young Lions) won track championships. Caden Carlin (Outlaws) and Dezel West (Bandits) won the Bandolero season championships.

NEXT RACE – Oct. 17-18: 23rd annual USLCI Legends Asphalt Nationals and 15th annual Thunder Car Nationals. The Bullring continues to be one of the best entertainment values in the Las Vegas Valley with affordable ticket prices and family-friendly concession prices including $1 hot dogs, $1 Coca-Cola products and $2 Budweiser beer.

For more information on all events at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, please visit and follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.

Saturday night’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature-event results from
The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

2014 Bullring points champions: Scott Gafforini (NASCAR Super Late Models), Jason Irwin (NASCAR Grand American Modifieds), Martin Sullins (NASCAR Bombers), Jason Kiser (NASCAR Super Stocks), Chris Bosley (Thunder Cars), Peyton Saxton (Legend Cars – Pro), Michael Todd Glazier (Legend Cars – Masters), Devin Lane (Legend Cars – Semi-Pro), Jordan Dean (Legend Cars – Young Lions), Dezel West (Bandolero Bandits), Caden Carlin (Bandolero Outlaws).

50-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature: 1. Chris Trickle, 2. Scott Gafforini, 3. Steve Anderson, 4. Dennis Rock Jr., 5. Dallas Montes, 6. Andy Allen, 7. Devon Ostheimer, 8. Stan Mullis, 9. Mariah McGriff, 10. Jimmy Parker Jr., 11. Mike McKearn, 12. Bear Rzesnowiecky, 13. David Anderson, 14. Matt Johnson, 15. Noah Gragson, 16. Andre Prescott, 17. Romain Thievin, 18. Kayli Barker.

30-lap NASCAR Grand American Modified feature: 1. Aaron McMorran, 2. Joe DeGuevara, 3. Jason Irwin, 4. Vinny Raucci Jr., 5. Will Hunholz, 6. Justin Miller, 7. Tom Pfundstein, 8. Pat Petrie, 9. Marty Deluca, 10. Steve Durbin, 11. Jim Rogel.

25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature: 1. Court Connell, 2. Nathan Boss, 3. Michael Greve, 4. Martin Sullins, 5. Jim Merlino, 6. Jason Merlino, 7. Rich Ham, 8. Adam Simon, 9. Kirk Hance, 10. Justin Griffiths, 11. Cayla Bronston, 12. Anthony Riegert, 13. Sam Jacks, 14. Bobby Schumacher, 15. Jeff Bargerhuff, 16. Billy Hern.

25-lap Legend Car (Pro, Masters) feature: 1. Jason Irwin, 2. Nick Halen, 3. Peyton Saxton, 4. TJ Clark, 5. Jeremy Wood, 6. Scott Anderson, 7. Josh Gilbert, 8. Michael Todd Glazier, 9. Sean Glennon, 10. Randy Beddow, 11. Randy Schaaf, 12. John Burritt, 13. Jeffrey King, 14. Donny St. Ours, 15. Randy Irwin.

20-lap Legend Car (Semi-Pro, Young Lions) feature: 1. Cameron Morga, 2. Jordan Dean, 3. Noah Gragson, 4. Michael Womack, 5. Matthew Barnard, 6. Caity Miller, 7. Aubree Wartman, 8. Shane Skaggs, 9. Ren Marose, 10. Devin Lane, 11. Brian Williams, 12. Zach Blume.

25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature: 1. Jason Kiser, 2. Phil Goodwin, 3. Matt Cunningham, 4. Robert Negrete Jr.

20-lap USLCI Thunder Car feature: 1. Ian Anderson, 2. Chris Bosley, 3. Shaun Polack, 4. Travis Boyle, 5. Doug Germano, 6. Josh Quartaro, 7. Paul Licata, 8. Jacob Quartaro, 9. David Brandon Jr., 10. Darin Callaway.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Mason Sargent, 2. Ethan DeGuevara, 3. Dezel West, 4. Tye O’Hanley, 5. RJ Smotherman, 6. Kyle Keller, 7. Madison Gay.

12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Outlaws feature: 1. Ryan Vargas, 2. Kyle Jacks, 3. Philip Root, 4. Aiden Green, 5. Caden Carlin, 6. Allison Gay, 7. Brian Taylor, 8. Joey Paonessa, 9. Dylin Smotherman.

Track PR – Jeff Speer Photo

Trickle wins Super Late Model Feature at The Bullring