The DuWayne Davis Memorial brought a huge crowd and a huge car count, the biggest this year, to Golden Sands Speedway. Seventy-two total cars made up the show and qualifying found Matt Pyburn (71) in the Super Stocks, Dan Lensing (19) in the Element Mobile Late Models, Kyle Genett (16X) in the Rock 94.7 Pure Stocks and Kelly Sankey (88) in the 4-Cyl stock class picking up fast time honors.

The Super Stock heat races saw Kade Hamin (62), Phil Malouf (32) and Brian Weinfurter (24) all make their way to victory lane. In the feature, it was Matt Ciesielski out to the early lead, but issues slowed his car and that allowed Brian Weinfurter, Matt Pyburn and Wyatt Brooks to make their way to the front. Weinfurter grabbed the lead and held off Pyburn to take the win. Brooks squeezed in for 2nd, Pyburn ended up 3rd, Matt Raykowski (6) and Rachael Kallas (70) rounded out the top 5. In the standings, Weinfurter holds a 67 point edge over Malouf. Brian Weinfurter also picked up the DuWayne Davis Memorial trophy, which was voted on by fans.

Dan Lensing visited from Roscoe, Illinois with the Element Mobile Super Late Models and he took fast time. Four heat races were won by Cody Smiley (13), Troy Nelson (66), Natalie Decker (04) and Frank Nitzke (18). In the B main last chance race, the top 3 moved on. It was Nelson dominating early until mechanical issues ended his night. Corey Jankowski (31), Jeff Weinfurter (3) and Chad Devine (54) all advanced. In the A-Main, Travis Volm (7-11) and Mike Egan (44) started up front and stayed there. Frank Nitzke made some moves to get to the front, but could not get past the feature winner, Volm, his first ever in a Super Late Model, and runner up, Egan. Nitzke took 3rd, Eugene Gregorich Jr. (14) 4th and Matt Pyburn (71) picked up a top 5. Nitzke maintained his point lead, now at 16, over Gregorich Jr.

The Rock 94.7 Pure Stock division saw 3 heat winners; Mike Kasperek (08), Kyle Davis (43), DuWayne’s son, and Jake Capek (81). In the feature event, it was Davis jumping out the lead until Capek made a run to the lead. Capek picked up the win with Davis 2nd, Dean Ashbacher (38), Kyle Genett and Dan Weinfurter (4) finished 3rd through 5th. Capek slimmed the point lead some behind Genett which is now at 17.

The 4-Cylinder Stock class had Kelley Sankey (88) picking up a clean sweep. Cheri Kurth (07) won heat number 1. In the feature, it was again 3 and 4 wide racing action. Sankey grabbed the advantage on the high side working his way to 1st. Dale Robinson (3D), Dillon Mackesy (93) and George Seliger (06) battled for the second spot. When all was over though, it was Sankey, Robinson, Mackesy, Seliger and Brandon Polansky (8) picking up the top 5s. Mackesy maintains a 5 point lead over Sankey in the point standings.

The next event at Golden Sands Speedway is Friday, August 1st. It’s kid’s box car races. Kid’s with their box cars get in free! Super Late Models, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, 4-Cyl Stocks & Cruisers will be all be in action, plus a 4-Cyl Mod class will be running a special event as well.


– Golden Sands Speedway press release

Travis Volm Scores First SLM Win at Golden Sands