The question of whether or not Wisconsin race fans were experiencing some cabin fever was answered today as they filled the stands at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin to watch Travis Sauter win the inaugural Icebreaker 100 Super Late Model race.


With 23 laps to go, Sauter completed his charge from the ninth starting position to take the lead from Skylar Holzhausen and drive away to the victory.


“You never know, you could go winless,” Sauter said after the race. “When you win the first race of the year, it takes some pressure off and you can relax a little bit.”


Starting ninth wasn’t a worry for Sauter, but some early cautions helped his move to the front.


Joel Theisen (75) and Dennis Prunty (42) make hard contact with the wall during the Icebreaker 100. (Mark Melchiori photo)

Joel Theisen (75) and Dennis Prunty (42) make hard contact with the wall during the Icebreaker 100. (Mark Melchiori photo)

“We caught some breaks there early being the right lane when things got jumbled up in front of me,” Sauter said. “When I got into third, Dan Lensing and Holzhausen were gone. I could barely see him and I thought if this would stay green I wouldn’t catch him. But traffic helped slow them up a little bit but my car stayed consistent and I was able to run them down.”


Holzhausen took the lead on lap 14 from Brian Johnson Jr. one lap prior to the final caution of the race where Dennis Prunty and Joel Theisen got together in turns one and two collecting Alex Prunty and Collin Reffner.


Holzhausen was able to get a good jump on the restart and thought he had a big enough lead on Sauter, but knew how strong he is at DRP.


“The car was really good except for the last 20 laps when it got free a little on entry and in the center,” Holzhausen said. “It slowed up a little bit and I thought we were fine. Obviously, Lensing had his tires burned up and I was conserving mine. Then, out of nowhere, here comes Travis. All in all we had a good car and I am still surprised he caught us.”


Dan Lensing was the fast qualifier among the 34 cars to take time and started 13th. He worked his way up to second by lap 27.


Lensing was chasing down Holzhausen, but at the same time was being chased down by Travis Sauter.


Sauter would get by Lensing for second on lap 69 as Lensing drifted high in turn four giving Sauter the easy pass.


“To get third in the feature with his caliber of drivers, I am pretty pleased with that,” said Lensing. “We got a little work to do still to do on the setup. I was sliding the right rear going into the corner and run out of side bite in the middle of the corner with 30 to go and that is where Travis got me. Once we get that figured out, we will have a better 100-lap car. Right now, we are good for a 40-lapper.”


Ty Majeski finished fourth and Nathan Haseleu rounded out the top five.


Even running the new Hoosier F-80 tire didn’t effect how the 32-year-old Necedah, Wisconsin native would run his race.


“This was the normal pace that I always run here. These tires really don’t fall off, so the pace was fast the whole time,” Sauter explained. “We are able to maintain it. It might have looked like we are going faster in the second half, but it was the same the whole time. They will go the same speed for a long time.”



Randy Breunig (23) beats Dave Trute (2) to the checkered flag in the Great Northern Sportsman Series feature. (Mark Melchiori photo)

The Great Northern Sportsman Series ran a 40-lap feature as well on Sunday afternoon. Randy Breunig held off a late charge from Dave Trute to win the race by three-quarters of a car length.


Track Promoter Wayne Lensing was very pleased with the turnout for the inaugural event stating that this was one of the best crowds he has had since taking over the track a few years ago.


Trackside Now Replay presented by Earnest Performance – CLICK HERE


Dells Raceway Park

Super Late Models

Icebreaker 100


1. Travis Sauter

2. Skylar Holzhausen

3. Dan Lensing

4. Ty Majeski

5. Nathan Haseleu

6. Chris Weinkauf

7. Jeff Storm

8. Bobby Kendall

9. Collin Reffner

10. Brian Johnson Jr.

11. Bobby Kendall

12. Reagan May

13. Tim Sauter

14. Johnny Sauter

15. Ben Pettis

16. MG Gajewski

17. Derek Lemke

18. Dennis Prunty

19. Joel Theisen

20. Tim Lampman

21. Alex Prunty

22. Tim Schendel

23. John DeAngelis

24. Andrew Morrissey

– Kevin Ramsell, Director of Business/Midwest Editor. Twitter: @KevinRamsell

Photo Credit:

Travis Sauter Ices Another Victory At Dells Raceway Park