Springfield, IL — Longtime racing promoter, Bob Sargent, was named the 13th winner of the UMP Bob Memmer Award, this past Saturday, January 13, at the DIRTcar Awards Banquet, in Springfield, Illinois. Sargent has been a fixture at Macon Speedway, as owner/promoter since the 1980’s, while he also is highly involved in other big racing events across the country at numerous facilities. Sargent joins the ranks of promoters like Eldora’s Earl Baltes, who won the first Bob Memmer Award.


The award is named after Bob Memmer, who started UMP (United Midwestern Promoters) in the mid 1980’s. The honor is given out annually at the banquet to someone who has been involved in dirt track racing for many years and shows great dedication to the sport. DIRTcar Racing involves thousands of drivers and tracks throughout the United States.


Sargent stated, “I am very honored to receive this prestigious award. I feel very fortunate to have worked with so many great people in this industry, including the founder of UMP, Bob Memmer. Not only learning from these great people, but also becoming friends with them has been very rewarding.”


In addition to 30+ years of promotion of Macon Speedway, Sargent is the president of Track Enterprises which runs Lincoln (IL) Speedway and the Terre Haute (IN) Action Track. Sargent has also been a promoter of USAC and ARCA races for 20+ years at the Illinois and Du Quoin State Fairs, Lucas Oil Raceway, Elko Speedway, Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville, and the Hoosier 100 at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.


This year, Sargent will host his first superspeedway event at Gateway Motorsports Park in the St. Louis, Missouri area, giving him well over 20 different race tracks in eight states that he has owned or leased for events.


Sargent has previously claimed the ARCA “John Marcum Award”, USAC Racing Promoter Of The Year, RPM Promoters Workshop Promoter Of The Year, and UMP Promoter Of The Year.


-Track Enterprises Press Release

-Photo Credit: Track Enterprises

Track Enterprises Promoter Claims Bob Memmer Award