This past weekend had just about everything happening everywhere in the country, with the biggest week of the year for Dirt Modifieds in New York, Full-Bodied thunder on the asphalt from Massachusetts to California, and a whole lot of victims in the “Room of Doom”. These are the Top 10 stories from the weekend.


1. Top Three DQ’d; Morrissey Named Oktoberfest Winner

When Andrew Morrissey completed the Oktoberfest 200 at Lacrosse Speedway (WI) Sunday afternoon as the fourth car to take the checkered flag, he couldn’t have possibly imagined he would be adding his name to the list of winners in the 49-year history of the event.


2. ‘Lightning’ Strikes Super DIRT Week Victory Lane at Oswego

After coming up short in six previous tries in Dirt Modified racing’s biggest race, lightning finally struck in victory lane at Super DIRT Week, as Larry Wight guided his No. 99L to the win in the Super DIRTcar Series Billy Whittaker Cars 200 Sunday evening at Oswego Speedway.


3. Eckes Takes ‘Unbelievable’ Car to ARCA Victory Lane

For the second consecutive ARCA Racing Series Presented by Menards race, a Venturini Motorsports young gun dominated on his way to victory lane. This time, it was Christian Eckes winning his third ARCA race of the season at Lucas Oil Raceway just outside Indianapolis, leading 170 of the 200 laps in the process.


4. Short Track SuperNationals Comes Down to a Super Last-Lap

The “Super” in the Short Track SuperNationals lived up to all the hype Saturday night at Thunder Mountain Speedway. A race-long battle over the 50-lap Modified feature between polesitter Mat Williamson and Andy Bachetti turned into an all-out melee that thrilled fans over the final 10 laps. In the end, it was Bachetti making a last-lap pass on Williamson to score the victory.


Andy Bachetti (4) and Mat Williamson (6) battle in the late laps at Thunder Mountain. ( Photos

5. Majeski’s DQ Leads to Bucket List Win for Bilderback

Michael Bilderback scored a bucket list victory Saturday night at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway (WI), but he did it in an unconventional way. Bilderback inherited the Big 8 Series victory during Oktoberfest Race Weekend when original victor Ty Majeski was disqualified (transmission) in post-race technical inspection.


6. ‘The Punisher’ Scores First Victory Since 2016 Oxford 250

It was a race of two halves for the Pro Stocks at Seekonk Speedway (MA) on Saturday night, with Wayne Helliwell, Jr. surviving the chaotic closing stages of the DAV Fall Classic to take home the win in the 150-lap race.


7. Kulwicki Development Driver Bests Father for Challenge Cup Victory

A couple months ago, Brett Yackey and family made the trek to Wisconsin for the annual Dixieland 250. Although it did not go quite as expected, the Greeley, Colorado-based team chased their issues until the very end, in part by being parked next to a Midwest champion. Soaking up as much knowledge and advice from driver Ty Majeski and crew chief Toby Nuttleman as possible, they have been on a roll ever since returning to their home state.


Sauter celebrates his victory in the Dick Trickle 99 at LaCrosse. ( photo)

8. Johnny Sauter Scores Meaningful Dick Trickle 99 Victory

After missing out on Thursday’s portion of the Oktoberfest Race Weekend, Johnny Sauter arrived at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway (WI) Friday night and stole the show. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver unloaded fast and bested Ty Majeski in the third and final segment to win the Dick Trickle 99 Memorial Race.


9. Zampa Notches Huge Victory at Madera Speedway

Logan Zampa scored the biggest win of his young career when he took the checkered flag first in the Sixth Annual “Nut Up Short Track Shootout 150” Saturday night at Madera Speedway (CA). The win was worth $10,000 for the small budget team out of Napa, California that bested a field of 26 RPM Mortgage Pro Late Models on the “Fastest One-Third Mile in the West”.


10. Defending FUEL Champ Snaps Winless Streak at Cherokee

A year-long drought in the FUEL Late Model Series finally came to an end for Steve Banal at Cherokee Speedway (SC) Saturday night. The defending champion of the FUEL Series went a full year without securing a victory dating back to October of 2017.

Top 10: Short Track Racing Stories from the Weekend