(Galesburg, MI) – A capacity crowd was on hand and 106 cars caused some drivers to pit in the parking lot for the Freedom 100 presented by Send out Cards. Of the 20 Outlaw Latemodels going for the title of Freedom 100 Champion. A star studded field included many familare names across the area in Mike Brooks, John “Torch” Osterhouse, Todd Harrington, Marty Crawford, AJ Foote, Matt Frazier, Jesse VanAvery, Corey Pressler, Billy Shannon and Matt Corliss.

In qualifying former track champion, AJ Foote was the fastest qualifier for The Freedom 100 with a time of 14.501, which was good enough for the second fastest lap at the track all year. The fastest lap this year was ran by Andy Bozell with a lap time on 14.455 on June 20th. In the sportsman division Simmie Hicks JR. surprised almost everyone, except himself and his crew with a lap time of 15.165. The street stocks saw a rookie grab the fastest lap as Toby Montogomery beat out Brad VanAvery with a lap time of 15.953. In the Outlaw Burg Stocks, Jacob Alexander would grab fast time with a great lap of 16.479 and in the Burgstock division David Green was fast qualifer with a time of 17.722.

Outlaw Latemodels did not have heat races scheduled due to the length of their feature. This is done to make sure the cars are in the best condition possible for the feature. The Sportsman, Street Stocks, Outlaw Burgstocks and Burgstocks all had heat races however. The following drivers all collected heat wins. In Sportsman, Kenny Head making his second trip to Galesburg this year and Darlene Johnson in her first race in several years. Street Stocks saw wins from Matt Elsey and Doug Smith who also was visiting for the second time this year. Outlaw Burgstock heat race wins went to Chris Shea and John Neal III. Burgstocks had four heat races and the winners were Danny Payne, Richard Edwards, Mark Green and Tina Sturm.

The Burgstocks, which are FWD, 4 or 6 clylinder cars that are for the most part stock, led off the nights features with a 20 lap race. Danny Payne did a fabulous job of working through traffic, until a three wide move for the lead out of turn four ended his night. That left the door open for Ryan Osborne who was driving the #23. Ryan who has never won an A feature race was in control and went on to capture the win followed by Gary Wade, Willie Neal, Curt Daniel and Sam Mann rounding out the top 5.

The sportsman A feature turned out to be a battle between Justin Dinsick and Josh Trammell for pretty much the entire 30 lap race. Josh Trammell tried everything in his power to hold off the #26 of Kenny Head in third while also trying to pass the #29 of Dinsick. Trammell would make one last attempt coming out of two on the final lap, but Dinisck slammed the door and would go onto win what could be the best race of the year in that division or at the track all year. Kenny head would take fourth after slowing up to miss Trammell and Dinick on the last lap, that allowed fast qualifier Simmie Hicks JR. to pass for third. John Dole completed the top 5.

Matt Elsey took advantage of great starting position to jump out to an early lead in the street stock feature and would dominate the 25 lap race. There would however be a late restart putting point leader Brad VanAvery behind Christina Rantz who was in second. With Toby Montgomery sitting in fourth and still looking for that elusive first ever win at Galesburg Speedway, he would jump to the outside of VanAvery and make the pass. Montgomery would move into second a few laps later but Elsey’s lead had grown and he would settle for second followed by Brad Vanavery, Dave Elliott and Doug Smith completes the top 5.

The Freedom 100 saw a 13 car inversion putting the #23 of Jacob Maynard on the pole with Jesse VanAvery, who recently moved up from the Sportsman Division, on Maynard’s outside. Maynard jumped out to a commanding lead and looked to be on his way to a big win. With very few yellows drivers like Corey Pressler, Todd Harrington and Mike “Bubba” Brooks were doing their best to reel in the pole sitter. Eventually the #32x of Pressler would run down Maynard and set his sights on the lead. Then the break everyone was looking for, a caution, with 25 laps to go. On the restart the #31 of Harrington would get by Pressler and then after a quick battle for the lead with Maynard, Harrington took the lead with around 20 laps to go. He would never look back taking the checker and the title of Freedom 100 Champion. Jacob Maynard held on to second followed by Corey Pressler, Mike Brooks, Rich Hardy, Jesse VanAvery, Matt Frazier, Matt Corliss, Bud Phillips, John “Torch” Osterhouse, Billy Shannon, Marty C. Crawford, Scott Rugg, Nick Pressler, AJ Foote, Justin Lanting, John Dole, Bruce Stanton, John Neal and Scott Newsom.

Outlaw Burgstocks had an entertaining race with Jacob Alexander taking the win followed by Tyler McGhan, Larry McNally, Matt Dawe and Greg Sturm finished out the top 5. The final race of the evening was the Burgstock B Feature where Brandy Emerson captured the win followed by Mark Green, Kyle Shannon, Tabby Loop and Kevin Collins in fifth.

Next Saturday, July 11th racing resumes with the make up date for Mid-Season Championships. Todd Harrington will be looking to continue where he left off and with only 3 points speperating him from John Dole in the standings a win next week will give him enough to take the top spot in the standings. Also racing are the Sportsman, Street Stocks, Outlaw Burgstocks and Burgstocks.

-Galesburg Speedway PR

Todd Harrington Claims Freedom 100 Victory