Tiebreaker Determines Pole-Sitter for SLM World Series Opener

In qualifying for the first night of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL), Derek Griffith and Augie Grill set identical 17.753-second lap times, placing them sixth and seventh in the results.  Griffith was awarded sixth spot ahead of Grill by virtue of going onto the track first during qualifying.


Typically, this would simply be the difference in one spot on the track before a feature race.  On Friday night, it made the difference between starting first and seventh.


Race officials drew a six-car invert following qualifying for the Super Late Model feature, placing Griffith on the pole as a result.  Max Calles-McDonald will join Griffith on the front row for the 35-lap feature.


“We qualified sixth and they drew that top six,” Griffith told Speed51.  “We’ve been fighting a little snug-like since yesterday.  We haven’t been that really fast car, but we’ve been consistent with times and how it’s driving.  We’re going to make a small change and hopefully take off with it.”


Defending New Smyrna Super Late Model track champion Brad May set fast time in the qualifying session, with a lap of 17.642 seconds.  He narrowly edged Jesse Love (17.646 seconds) for quick time honors.


Along with the 35-lap races for the Pro and Super Late Models, there will be races for Sportsman, Florida Modifieds and Bombers on the first night of the 54th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.


Visit Speed51’s Trackside Now coverage, presented by PFC Brakes, for live updates from the event.


Find all of Speed51’s Florida Speedweeks coverage by visiting Speedweeks Central.


Super Late Model Qualifying Results

Pos. # Driver Fast Lap
1 9 Brad May 17.642
2 21 Jesse Love 17.646
3 20 Anthony Sergi 17.658
4 51 Sammy Smith 17.695
5 148 Max Calles-McDonald 17.727
6 12G Derek Griffith 17.753
7 112 Augie Grill 17.753
8 74 Ryan Moore 17.764
9 50 Jett Noland 17.769
10 24 Colin Garrett 17.783
11 13 Austin MacDonald 17.808
12 44 Justin Mondeik 17.926
13 9B Trey Bayne 17.966
14 35 Jake Garcia 18.013
15 11 David Rogers 18.029
16 12 Brad Kossow 18.077
17 12D David Green 18.150
18 01 Vincent Staggs 18.737


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

Tiebreaker Determines Pole-Sitter for SLM World Series Opener