Throwback Thursday: Wins in Three Decades for Madhouse Champ

On this date, Southern Modified ace Paul Radford won at Bowman Gray Stadium (NC) in three different decades.  Radford picked up wins on this date in in 1966, 1977 and 1983. His career spanned over four decades and he raced against the best and won on several occasions.


Radford was a proven winner in the southeast at tracks like Martinsville Speedway (VA), North Wilkesboro Speedway (NC), Hickory Motor Speedway (NC), and, of course, Bowman Gray Stadium.


It was at Bowman Gray where he found a home and took the track championship in 1977 and 1978.  At the time, he was the fifth driver to win back-to-back titles at the Stadium in the Modified division.


Despite only two championships at “The Madhouse,” Radford is one of the winningest driver in the history of the Winston-Salem track.  His 55 wins place him fifth on the all-time win list, behind Tim Brown, Burt Myers, Junior Miller and Ralph Brinkley.


Other Dates


1954 – Curtis Turner wins a NASCAR Sportsman race at the Raleigh Speedway on this date in North Carolina.  This was on the quarter-mile track of the facility that also had a 1-mile oval for what we now know as the Cup Series. Turner won three times on this track’s configuration and twice on the big oval, including a NASCAR convertible race. The track was closed in 1959.


1988 – David Rogers wins a wild USAR Late Model race at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).  He didn’t cross the finish line first, as Dick Anderson was flagged the winner.  However, Anderson was light over the scales in technical inspection, handing the win to Rogers.  James Briley was able to move up to second.


2000 – Larry Gelinas takes home the International Pro Stock Challenge Series win at Speedway 95 in Hermon, Maine.  Andy Shaw was second and Scott Chubbuck was third. The series only lasted three seasons and 2000 was it’s final year.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

Throwback Thursday: Wins in Three Decades for Madhouse Champ