Throwback Thursday: Miller Kicks Off 1989 in Victory Lane

The start of the 1989 ASA National Tour season mirrored how the last two years had gone with the series.  Butch Miller, the series’ champion in both 1987 and 1988, won the Sunoco 250 at Columbus Motor Speedway (OH) to kick off the 1989 campaign.


The results of the first race read like a list of legends, as Miller beat out Ed Howe, Joe Shear, Harold Fair and Scott Hansen.  Mike Eddy was sixth, the last car on the lead lap.


Miller’s victory that day was just the start of another great season in 1989.  He went on to win nine of the 15 ASA sanctioned races, but his trouble of keeping the car going the whole race prevented a three-peat in the battle for the season-long championship.


Mike Eddy was “Steady Eddy” that year Eddy, finishing outside the top two only twice during the season on the way to his fifth ASA National Tour title.  He would go on to win his sixth and seventh championships in 1991 and 1992.


In all, Miller captured 12 wins during the season, with big wins in the Winchester 400 and the All American 400 during a two-week stretch.  Years later, he would also accomplish the Winchester/All American double as a crew chief/driver coach, working with Ross Kenseth in 2012.


Overall, Miller had 84 wins in five seasons, including a win in the Snowball Derby and two wins in both the All American 400 and Winchester 400.  He would also go on to win the 1994 ASA Championship, finishing his career with three titles in the series.


Other Racing Events on This Date


1960 – Red Farmer won a NASCAR Modified race at Hollywood Speedway (FL) over Bobby Allison and Bobby Johns.


1967 – Dan Gurney was victorious in an SCCA race at Green Valley Speedway (TX).  Gurney was an F1 winner, 24 Hours of Daytona winner and at one point won five of six race in the NASCAR Cup Series at Riverside (CA).


1979 – Darrell Waltrip won a NASCAR Late Model Sportsman race at Orange County Speedway (NC). Waltrip beat out Tommy Ellis for the win and Morgan Sheppard was third. By our records, this was the only start for Waltrip at OCS.


2000 – Dale Shaw wins the first race of the century for the old Busch North Series. Shaw went flag-to-flag from the pole, kicking off a fine season that featured two wins.  He would come up short for the championship as Brad Leighton would best him in wins and top 10 finishes.


-Story by Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit: ASA Facebook Fan Photo

Throwback Thursday: Miller Kicks Off 1989 in Victory Lane