Three Super Late Model All-Stars Invited to Super Select

A trio of Super Late Model All-Stars from three different regions of the country have officially been invited to the inaugural Speed51 Super Select at Lucas Oil Raceway.  The winner-take-all Super Late Model All-Star Race sanctioned by the ARCA/CRA Super Series will be held Saturday, September 7 during Brickyard 400 Weekend in Indianapolis.


All three drivers receiving invites Thursday were scheduled to compete in last year’s Super Select before the effects of Tropical Storm Gordon forced race officials to cancel the event.


First up on the invitation list is Hudson, New Hampshire driver Derek Griffith, a member of the 2019 Kulwicki Driver Development Program.  Griffith earned his invitation after recording a pair of Pro All Stars Series (PASS) victories at Thunder Road (VT) and Speedway 95 (ME), as well as a big victory in the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Super Late Model finale at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) this past February.


From the East Coast to the West Coast, we go from one Derek to another Derek.  Defending NASCAR K&N Pro Series West champion and four-time SPEARS SRL Southwest Series champion Derek Thorn has been invited to compete in the Speed51 Super Select.  Thorn earned his invitation by scoring a pair of SRL victories at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway (NV) and Madera Speedway (CA) already this season.


Finally, we head to the Midwest region for Thursday’s final Speed51 Super Select invitation.  After putting $20,000 in the bank for the second straight year during the Money in the Bank 150 at Berlin Raceway (MI), Michigan native Brian Campbell has been invited to compete in the first-of-its-kind Super Late Model All-Star Race.  In addition to his Money in the Bank victory, Campbell also scored a NASCAR Whelen All-American Series win earlier this year at Berlin Raceway.


Drivers who accept their invitation to compete in the Speed51 Super Select and become a member of the “Select Team” by July 1, 2019 will receive free entry, a guaranteed starting spot and four free tires for the race. Drivers invited to join the “Select Team” earned their invites by winning Late Model races.  There will also be a 30-lap “Open” race for drivers to earn starting spots in the Speed51 Super Select.


The inaugural Speed51 Super Select will serve as an All-Star Race for Super Late Model racing.  Over 20 of the top Super Late Model racers in the country will be racing in the $10,000 winner-take-all event. In addition to the top prize of at least $10,000, there will also be a variety of bonuses and contingency awards available to teams.


A pair of features will be contested on September 7, one for the Super Late Models and a 100-lap race for the USAC Silver Crown Series.  There will also be a 50-lap Super Late Model race that will be open to all drivers to compete in.  That race will transfer more drivers into the Super Select field.


More information regarding the 2019 Speed51 Super Select will be announced soon.  Stay tuned to for more details about the event.


-Story by: Brandon Paul, Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

-Photo credit:

Three Super Late Model All-Stars Invited to Super Select