Bakersfield, CA – For the second time in three seasons, Derek Thorn was crowned the champion of the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series.  In route to his second series title, Thorn, from Lakeport, California drove his Campbell Motorsports #43 to victory lane on four occasions, and finished runner-up three times in 2014.


Thorn collected wins at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Rocky Mountain Raceway, Madera Speedway and on the one-mile at Pikes Peak International Raceway.


In addition to his wins in 2014, Thorn set fast time at eight of the ten series events, setting new track records at Pikes Peak International Raceway, Kern County Raceway Park and at The Bulling.


Thorn and the entire Campbell Motorsports team will be honored at 2014 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Championship Awards Banquet on January 24th, 2015 at Buck Owens Crystal Palace in Bakersfield, California.


-SPEARS Southwest Tour Press Release.  Photo Credit: SPEARS Southwest Tour Photo

Thorn Wins Second SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Title