Thomas Takes Sandra Miller Memorial at Lake View

LAKE VIEW, SC (August 7) – Wake Forest, NC’s Christian Thomas made it two Late Model wins in-a-row win leading every lap of the 4th Annual Sandra Miller Memorial to win Saturday night at Lake View Motor Speedway.  Thomas pocketed $3,000 for the second straight race on the newly widened and banked 4/10-mile speedway.


Thomas started on the pole, edging out 3-time race winner, Dustin Mitchell, with a lap of 16.714 seconds.  Thomas got the advantage at the drop of the green, while Russell Erwin was able to get around Mitchell for second.  The leaders darted through lapped traffic as the machine of Jeffrey Johnson slowed on the frontstretch on lap nine.  On the restart, Justin Mintz car did not come up to speed, resulting in Chris Miller and Blake Sanderson hitting the inside guardrail.  Despite several challenges from Erwin, Thomas sped away to his second Late Model win of the season.  Rounding out the top five were Erwin, Mitchell, Shaun Harrell, and Daniel Tucker.  Finishing sixth through tenth were Johnny Pridgen, Clint Hodges, Johnson, David Baker, and Willie Milliken.


Outside polesitter Ron Pope got the advantage on the start, but was passed by Cameron Norris, IV on lap three as he sped to his third straight Carolina Outlaw Super Street win at Lake View.  Stevie Reeves became the first driver to hit the new outside guardrail in turn two, bringing out a caution on lap six.  With seven laps to go, Anthony Yarborough would go for a long slide down the frontstretch.  Following Norris and Pope at the finish were Chris Powers, Benji Thompson, and Johnny Moore.


Jerry Johnson, Jr. got the lead at the drop of the green flag and held off challenges from several drivers to win his third Morrisonbuilt Performance SCDRA Sport Compact race of the year.  Julio Cifuentes, Jr. and Chris Deskins brought the caution out on lap five when they spun into the inside guardrail on the front straightaway.  Five laps later, the caution again waved when second place runner, Troy Hill, spun out of turn four after contact from Kyle Jenks.  Late in the race, Jason Brown mounted a run at Johnson for the lead, but spun in turn three with two laps to go.  Following Johnson at the finish were Jenks, Derek Kemper, Hill, and Brian Mercer.


Ed Mason led flag-to-flag for his second Stock V8 win of the season.  The caution would wave on the opening lap when Blaise Bryant got into Mark Compton entering turn one.  Following Mason at the checkered flag were James Smith, Compton, Jaden Locklear, and John Charles.


The Bell & Bell Vintage Modifieds were also in action with Jeremy Cumbee winning in Pro Mod, Steve Core in Sportsman, Sherman Garris in 6-Cylinder, and Pete Corey in Seniors.


The next event at Lake View Motor Speedway will feature the FUEL/I-95 Challenge Series Late Models, 602 Open Wheel Modifieds, Carolina Outlaw Super Streets, CRUSA Street Stocks, Stock V-8, and SCDRA Sport Compacts.  For more information, please “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter or by visiting


-Lake View Motor Speedway Press Release and Photo

Thomas Takes Sandra Miller Memorial at Lake View