BELLEVILLE, Ill. – After rare bad luck at Clarksville Speedway on Tuesday night, Bobby Pierce rebounded on Wednesday to win at Belle-Clair Speedway and claim his sixth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.

Jason Feger looked to be the driver to beat early as he tried for his first Summer Nationals victory of the season. On the green, he jumped ahead of Ryan Unzicker. Through the opening laps, Unzicker tried to run down Feger and nearly had him when a caution flag flew.

After the caution, Feger pulled away as Pierce battled into third and then began challenging Unzicker for second. Through traffic, the top three stayed tight and Pierce was able to take over second on lap 30. On a restart with 10 laps remaining, Pierce took his shot. Feger bobbled on the back straight and Pierce took the lead.

“I was just kind of being patient, waiting for him to hopefully to do that,” Pierce said. “And right when he did that, at the same time I had a heckuva run, and I just decided to take it right there, and luckily it paid off.”

Feger finished in second with Unzicker in third.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues to roll Thursday night with a stop at Springfield Raceway in Springfield, Mo.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Belle-Clair Speedway; Belleville, Ill.

A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 3. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 4. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 5. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua, IL), 6. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 7. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL), 8. Rick Salter (Aviston, IL), 9. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 10. Daryn Klein (Fairview Heights, IL), 11. Mike Hammerle (St Charles, MO), 12. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 13. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR), 14. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains, IL), 15. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN), 16. Corey Ford (Belleville, IL), 17. Chad Zobrist (Highland, IL), 18. Adam Tischhauser (Mulberry Grove, IL), 19. Michael Kloos (Trenton, IL), 20. Mike Schulte (Summer Field, IL), 21. Myles Moos (Lincoln, IL), 22. Matt Taylor (Springfield, IL). Hard Charger: Timothy Culp.

-DIRTcar Press Release.  Photo Credit: DIRTcar Summer Nationals Twitter

The Smooth Operator Stays Like Silk in Belleville