The Short Track Draft Fan Vote Winner Is…

Nearly 6,500 votes were submitted over the weekend, as Speed51 held the final round of fan voting for the 2020 Short Track Draft.  When the final results were tabulated, it was Hueytown, Alabama racer JoJo Wilkinson winning the fan vote.


During the voting process, Wilkinson’s team aggressively campaigned for votes in the Short Track Draft fan vote, including making posts which referenced offering money or a chance at prizes in exchange for votes.


Speed51 investigated the results and found no suspicious voting activity or foul play to suggest any actual wrongdoing took place during the fan voting process.


“After a thorough investigation, we did not find suspicious activity within the votes that were received,” said Speed51 Editor Brandon Paul. “Additionally, in our determination, nothing was conducted that resulted in a violation of any rules that were set forth with the fan vote. We have spoken to the parties involved and have advised them on how we believe votes in these contests should remain pure.”


Wilkinson was grateful to be named the Fan Vote winner and for the exposure that comes with the honor.


“It means a lot to me because, where I’m from, there’s not a lot of supporters, it’s mainly just me and my family, so we tried to get people to post on Facebook and share all we could to show what I’m made of and how badly we want it.”


She believed the majority of her votes came from personal interactions from family and friends in the voting photo album itself, encouraging people to vote directly rather than through posts on their own Facebook pages.


“We didn’t really start getting any votes until we started commenting on the picture (in the fan vote album) and tagging everybody.  We mainly got our votes from tagging people and asking family and friends to tag people.”


Snowball Derby runner-up Jake Garcia finished second in fan voting, with Brooke Storer finishing third.  Dawson Fletcher and Jonathan Shafer rounded out the top five.


Finishing sixth through tenth among the finalists were Parker Retzlaff, Chase Burda, Teddy Hodgdon, Ashton Higgins and Jacob Perry.


Results from the fan vote will serve as just one vote towards determining the results of the 2020 Short Track Draft.  It does not guarantee higher placement among other prospects in the overall Short Track Draft, which involves votes from more than 100 industry experts.


Stay tuned to Speed51 for more information regarding the schedule for the 2020 Short Track Draft.


Follow the hashtag #ShortTrackDraft on Twitter for more information surrounding the 2020 Short Track Draft.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

The Short Track Draft Fan Vote Winner Is…