The short track racing world is one that spans far and wide across the continent with many different forms of racing. With so many types of race cars, race tracks and drivers competing across the land, many short track touring series have taken root over the years. Though there are many differences between all of them, each touring series has garnered its own core of race teams and race fans.


Today we are pleased to announce the touring series that has been voted by the fans as the Best Touring Series of the 2017 season in the annual Speed51 Awards.


Best Performance in a Touring Role     

(Best Touring Series of the Year)


The 51 Award for Best Touring Series of 2017 goes to… the Race of Champions.


Born out of the longtime Modified race that it takes its name after, the Race of Champions has become a showcase for racing in Upstate New York, Northern Pennsylvania and Southern Ontario.


While the RoC is known for its Super Stock, Late Model, Asphalt and Dirt Sportsman Modifieds, it is the Asphalt Tour-type Modifieds that has been the flagship series.  Along with the flagship series comes the flagship event: The Race of Champions 250 which ran its 67th edition in 2017 at Lake Erie Speedway (PA).


In total, the RoC Asphalt Modifieds ran 13 races in 2017 at Lancaster Speedway (NY), Oswego Speedway (NY), Spencer Speedway (NY), Jennerstown Speedway (PA), Holland International Speedway (NY), Chemung Speedrome (NY) and the aforementioned Lake Erie Speedway. RoC Asphalt Sportsman Mods also ran at Delaware Speedway (ON).


Upon being informed that his series won the award, RoC promoter Joe Skotnicki credited the longtime dedication of all who have followed and supported the series.


“It’s pretty incredible,” he said.  “It’s a testament to our fans, participants and the folks that are so passionate about the series that we had an opportunity to win this award.”


Coming in a close runner-up was a three-time winner of the Best Touring Series Award, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.  The Pro All Stars Series, which hosts Super Late Model events in the Northeast and Southeast, completed the podium in third. The defending award winner, the ARCA Midwest Tour, was fourth. 2014 Best Touring Series, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, finished fifth in the voting.


Former Best Touring Series of the Year Winners

2016 – ARCA Midwest Tour

2015 – CARS Tour

2014 – Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

2013 – Valenti Modified Racing Series

2012 – Valenti Modified Racing Series

2011 – Champions Racing Association (CRA)

2010 – Champions Racing Association (CRA)

2009 – No Vote

2008 – No Vote

2007 – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

2006 – No Vote

2005 – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

2004 – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour


-Text by Staff

-Photo credit: Photos

The 51’s: Best Touring Series of 2017 Award Goes To…