Promoting a race track or touring series can be one of the most difficult jobs in motorsports. It can also be one of the most rewarding when everything goes right.


From putting money on the line for racers to enhancing the fan experience, short track racing promoters do it all.  In order to strive in today’s racing landscape, promoters are required to be hands on.  They’re required to do the dirty work and put in the extra hours to make sure their events are the best they possibly can be.


Each year, honors the best promoters from throughout North America during the annual 51 Awards. Today, we’re pleased to announce the winner of the Promoter of the Year Award for 2017.


Best Director

(Promoter of the Year)


For just the second time in the history of the Speed51 Awards, we have a repeat winner in the Promoter of the Year category.  After winning the award for the first time in 2016, Lancaster National Speedway’s Tim Packman has once again been voted as the top promoter in North America.


“I am humbled and honored to have received the votes and be named Promoter of the Year once again,” Packman told “Just to be nominated amongst such a great group of fellow promoters is one thing, winning twice is another.


“The award might have my name on it, but none of the track’s success would be possible with our great staff, officials and partners. They are the ones who make it all happen each week.


“Thanks to for putting this together, all who voted, and most of all this is testament to the great things going on at Lancaster National Speedway with our fans in the stands and stars in the cars.”


Packman, who began working in the concession stands at Lancaster in the 80s, took over promoting duties for the 2016 season.  He quickly worked to bring life back into the speedway located right outside of Buffalo.


During the 2017 season, Lancaster hosted a variety of major events and series including the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series and ISMA Supermodifieds.  On a local level, the track has also seen an increase in their weekly car counts in both the Sportsman and Street Stock divisions.


From a fan’s perspective, the experience has also improved under Packman’s leadership and that has shown with more fans in the stands for each event at the track.


Packman will continue to bring Lancaster to another level in 2018 by welcoming Red Bull Global Rallycross to the facility for the first time.


Kevin and Tammy Gundeker, the popular promoters of Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, IL, finished second in the voting.  Greg McKarns of the ARCA Midwest Tour rounded out the podium after another successful season for the Midwest Super Late Model touring series.


Champion Racing Association (CRA) promoters Glenn Luckett and R.J. Scott finished fourth after taking the lead role in promoting the inaugural Short Track U.S. Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway (TN).  First-year promoters Cris Michaud and Pat Malone of Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl (VT) completed the top five.

The 51’s: 2017 Short Track Promoter of the Year Goes To…