Texas Racer Triumphs in Rowdy Energy Select Series

Texas racer Kaden Honeycutt had pulled side-by-side with Riley Stenjem for the race lead with 30 complete as a caution came out for an incident in the back of the field.  Honeycutt was ahead by mere feet at the time of the yellow, giving him the top spot for the next restart.


That would ultimately prove to be the deciding factor for the outcome of the race.


Honeycutt dominated the rest of the way to take the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series powered by Speed51 win at the virtual Lucas Oil Raceway, remaining mostly unchallenged for the duration of the race that included two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch.  The part-time ARCA Menards Series driver credited that timely yellow for the race win.


“After I passed the 76 of (Cayden) Lapcevich I knew I was working with something on the bottom.  I said okay, let me try it again and I ran the apron in that corner, I didn’t even think it was going to stick, my tires just hooked up to it and fortunately that caution came out when I was half a car length ahead in front of him and that was the deciding factor,” Honeycutt said on the broadcast.  “That was so exciting, I’m so glad to rebound from last week.  We had such terrible luck at USA and I’m just glad to be able to rebound back.”


Honeycutt was especially untouchable on restarts, gaining big gaps at the onset of the green flag runs. He used a strategy different from other drivers in the field for each restart, helping him gain the sizeable advantages.


“I didn’t really think people would start in second gear.  I restarted in first gear just about every restart except the first one and that’s when I took the lead away from Riley (Stenjem) and I was like I don’t understand why people are restarting in second gear, it just seems kind of silly, it seemed to bog the motor down.  I just popped it in first gear and it took off.”


Between the Super Select Series and the eNASCAR iRacing Road to Pro Series, Honeycutt’s luck had all but completely run out in the final two weeks before Saturday night.  A track where Honeycutt has real-life experience getting around came at the right time, giving him a boost of momentum for the 100-lap event and other races to come.


“This feels so awesome, it gives you more confidence to go win more and more races I get into now. Lanier was okay, finished seventh there. And then USA was just a really hard place for me to get around.  We come here to a place I’ve been to and had experience before in the ARCA Menards Series, I just took that experience and applied it and man, it’s just crazy how real-life experience comes into play on everything you do.”


eRattler 250 winner Devon Morgan had another strong run with a runner-up finish.  The South Carolina driver took second with ten to go, but the battle allowed Honeycutt to scamper off with the lead.  While Morgan did cut into the lead, it was too little, too late for the unofficial points leader.


“I knew I was really fast there, through practice and everything I knew Stenjem was slower and was holding me up,” Morgan said.  “I had to go right then and there because I knew I was going to be better than Honeycutt. I just didn’t have enough laps to do anything with him.”


Wisconsin drivers Riley Stenjem and Parker Retzlaff followed in third and fourth, while USA International Speedway race winner and eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series regular Alex McCollum rounded out the top five.


The next Rowdy Energy Super Select Series Powered by Speed51 event sees the field head west for an appearance at the virtual Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  Click here to watch a replay of Saturday night’s race at Lucas Oil Raceway.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Coorespondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3


The Select at Lucas Oil Raceway Unofficial Results

110Kaden Honeycutt
2112Devon Morgan
3077Riley Stenjem
442Parker Retzlaff
51Alex McCollum
6114Connor Okrzesik
78Rafe Slate
832Treyten Lapcevich
940Carson Hocevar
1014Corey Deuser
1121Kole Raz
1226Travis Braden
13109John Peters
14151Sammy Smith
1576Cayden Lapcevich
1620Anthony Sergi
1724Mason Diaz
1835Greg Van Alst
1943Daniel Dye
2077Ryan Doucette
2154Rodney Childers
2239Max Cookson
236Logan Runyon
2478Corey Heim
2551Kyle Busch
26121Jeremy Pate
2767Colin Allman
2881Giovanni Bromante
2972Ryan Kuhn
3012Derek Griffith
3109Chris Dilbeck
3274Chris Gabehart
3346Cole Williams
34051Perry Patino

Texas Racer Triumphs in Rowdy Energy Select Series