Tennessee Racer Claims First Iron-Man Win in Home State

WARTBURG, TENNESSEE – The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com would make its first-ever appearance at Wartburg Speedway in Wartburg, TN on Friday evening for the Donald “Ducky” Jones Memorial and Robby Moses of Maryville, TN would score the $3,000 victory and claim his first-ever series win.


The win for Moses would make him the fourth different winner in four series events completed so far in 2019 and the win would come aboard the Roger Sellers owned Lazydays RV, 2150 Enterprises, Smoky Mountain Speedway, Neubert Fabrication, Malar Contract Lighting, Stanley Best Heat and Air sponsored #21 Longhorn Chassis, Vic Hill Race Engines powered entry.


Moses would take the lead and the start of the event, with Kenny Collins and Dustin Linville giving chase. Collins would pressure Moses for the lead, with Linville challenging both for position. Linville would work past Collins on lap three and would slide in front of Moses in turn two briefly, but Moses would drive back under Linville and maintain the lead into turn three. As the front trio would enter traffic, the first of two cautions in the event would wave as David Earl Gentry would slow in turn three and as the caution was thrown, second-place running Linville would make heavy contact with the outside retaining wall off turn two and roll to a stop and be done for the night. Back underway, Moses and Collins would resume their earlier battle for the race lead only to have Gentry draw the final caution of the race on lap twelve with a flat tire in turn two. The restart would see Collins pressure Moses for the lead and take the top spot, but Moses would continue to pressure Collins and Moses would retake the race lead on lap seventeen as the lead pair started working traffic. As the race passed the halfway mark on lap twenty, Moses began to mount a sizeable lead over the field, while sixteenth-place starter Michael Chilton began had worked his way toward the front and would make his way into the top five by lap thirty. Moses would maintain a comfortable lead throughout the final ten circuits and worked slower traffic wonderfully to grab the win. Chilton’s charge would see him finish up in the runner-up position, while Collins would complete the podium finishers. Drew Kennedy would finish in the fourth position, while Mike Weeks would make a last-lap pass to finish fifth. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Eddie King, Jr., Cameron Marlar, Riley Hickman, Joseph Faulkner, and Stacy Boles.


The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com next event will be Saturday June 22 at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN, paying $4,000 to win.


The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com would like to thank the following sponsors and marketing partners for their continued support: American Racer Tires, AR Bodies, Brucebilt Performance, Cruise with the Champions, Custom Suspensions, DirtonDirt.com, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies, Schaeffer’s Oil, Speedway Video Productions, VP Race Fuel, and Wiles Driveshafts.


Further information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at www.CTPROMOTIONS.org.


Official Summary of Results


Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series at Wartburg Speedway in Wartburg, TN on June 21, 2019

  1. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
  2. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
  3. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
  4. Drew Kennedy-Wartburg, Tenn.
  5. Mike Weeks-Lenoir City, Tenn.
  6. Eddie King, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
  7. Cameron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
  8. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.
  9. Joseph Faulkner-Fayetteville, Tenn.
  10. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
  11. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
  12. Patrick Duggan-Lenoir City, Tenn.
  13. Glenn Vanover-Harriman, Tenn.
  14. Tim Damron-Oneida, Tenn.
  15. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
  16. Casey Turman-Lafayette, Ga.
  17. Joey Standridge-Telico Plains, Tenn.
  18. Phil Helton-Clinton, Tenn.
  19. Shannon Elrod-Baxter, Tenn.
  20. Ted Lowe-Coalfield, Tenn.
  21. David Earl Gentry-Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  22. Dustin Linville-Bryantsville, Ky.


Time of Race: 20 minutes, 6 seconds

Margin of Victory: 2.701 seconds

Yellow Flags: Two (lap 8, 12)

Red Flags: None

Lap Leaders: Robby Moses 1-11, 17-40; Kenny Collins 12-16

Entries: 26

Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Overall Top Qualifier: Kenny Collins (Group A) 12.360 seconds

Highest Finishing All Steel Engine ($200): Drew Kennedy

Provisional Starters: Joey Standridge, Phil Helton


Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 5 transfer)- David Payne, Patrick Duggan, Shannon Elrod, Glenn Vanover, Ted Lowe, Westley Lester, Joey Standridge, Phil Helton


Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 5 transfer)- Mike Weeks, Joseph Faulkner, Michael Chilton, Tim Damron, Casey Turman, Daniel Dial, Derik Duggan, Charles McDonald


Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Points (after 6/21/19)

  1. Robby Moses-732
  2. Joseph Faulkner-714
  3. Joey Standridge- 674
  4. Casey Turman-648
  5. Brian Shirley-396
  6. David Seibers-390
  7. Allen Weisser-386
  8. Josh Putnam-386
  9. Dennis Erb, Jr.-372
  10. Mike Vandermark-368


-Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Press Release

-Photo credit: Wartburg Speedway FB

Tennessee Racer Claims First Iron-Man Win in Home State