Tennessee Driver Captures Iron-Man Win at ‘The Gap’

BULLS GAP, TENNESSEE – The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com would conclude America’s birthday weekend at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN on Saturday evening and Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, TN would lead all forty laps of the Schaeffer’s Oil A-Main to score the $5,000 payday and also become the repeat winner with the series in 2020.


Hedgecock’s checkered flag in the event would make it his third career Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series victory and would aboard his E-Z-GO, Budget Transmissions, Ohlins Shocks, sponsored #23 Rocket Chassis, Eagle Race Engines powered entry.


The start of the event would not see the first lap complete as a four-car melee in turn four involving David Payne, Robby Moses, Clay Coghlan, and Jeff Wolfenbarger would slow the contest on the opening lap. The race would then take the green flag and Cory Hedgecock would take the race lead, with Jensen Ford, Ryan King, Michael Chilton, and Kyle Strickler all in pursuit. King would take the fourth position away from Ford on lap four and Chilton would take third from Ford one circuit later, bring Strickler along with him to fourth. Hedgecock would flex his muscles out front and open up a comfortable advantage on King, while Donald McIntosh would make his way into the top five on lap nine, as Hedgecock would start the process of attempt to lap slower traffic on lap ten. The top five would maintain their spots the next five circuits until Chilton began to challenge King for the second spot and would take it on lap seventeen, with McIntosh sneaking past Strickler for the fourth position on the same lap. Hedgecock would catch a trio of slower cars by lap twenty-two and Chilton would begin to close the distance between himself and Hedgecock, however, Jake Knowles would have an engine issue on lap twenty-seven and draw the final caution of the race. Hedgecock would bring the field back to green, with Chilton holding second, while Strickler would jump past McIntosh for fourth and King and Strickler would trade sliders for the third spot on laps twenty-eight and twenty-nine before King would reclaim the third spot on lap thirty, but McIntosh would scoot past King to take third on lap thirty-one. Hedgecock would maintain a steady advantage over Chilton the remainder of the race and take the victory, with Chilton and McIntosh completing the podium finishers. King would finish fourth and Strickler would finish in fifth. The remainder of the top ten would be Logan Roberson, Vic Hill, Dakotah Knuckles, David Crabtree, and Jensen Ford.


The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com next scheduled event will be Saturday August 8 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN, paying $5,000 to win. Of note, there is a TBA on Saturday August 1 that may take place and will be announced accordingly if it happens.


Further information about the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com can be obtained by calling Promoter Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.CTPROMOTIONS.org.


2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Sponsors include: Schaeffer’s Oil, Brucebilt Performance, DirtonDirt.com, VP Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Graphic Impressions, Wiles Driveshafts, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Vic Hill Racing Engines, Earnhardt Technologies, Envy Suspension, Hoosier Racing Tire, E-Z-GO, Cruise with the Champions, Swafford Signs, and Speedway Videos Production.


Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN on July 4, 2020
1. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
2. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
5. Kyle Strickler-Mooresville, N.C.
6. Logan Roberson-Waynesboro, Va.
7. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
8. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
9. David Crabtree-Maryville, Tenn.
10. Jensen Ford-Johnson City, Tenn.
11. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
12. Heath Hindman-Signal Mountain, Tenn.
13. Pearson Lee Williams-Dublin, Ga.
14. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
15. Dusty Carver-Englewood, Tenn.
16. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
17. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
18. Clay Coghlan-Dandridge, Tenn.
19. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
20. Bobby Giffin-Maryville, Tenn.
21. Jeff Wolfenbarger-Powell, Tenn.
22. Danny Helton-Rogersville, Tenn.

Time of Race: 21 minutes, 48 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.486 seconds
Yellow Flags: Two (lap 1, 27)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Cory Hedgecock 1-40
Entries: 23
E-Z-GO Overall Top Qualifier: Cory Hedgecock (Group A) 13.177 seconds
Provisional Starters: Joey Standridge, Danny Helton

VP Racing Fuels Makin’ Power Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 6 transfer)- Clay Coghlan, David Crabtree, Dusty Carver, Pearson Lee Williams, Jake Knowles, Bobby Giffin, Rick Utsman, Danny Helton, Joey Standridge

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Schedule/Results:
May 25-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN (CORY HEDGECOCK)
May 30-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN (DAVID PAYNE)
June 5-Wartburg Speedway-Wartburg, TN (JOSH RICE)
June 6-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN (HEATH HINDMAN)
July 3-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN (JASON TRAMMELL)
July 4-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN (CORY HEDGECOCK)
August 1-TBA
August 8-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)
August 29-TBA
September 6-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$4,400 to win (44 laps)
October 9-TBA
November 28-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series Points (after 7/4/2020)
1. Ryan King-358
2. Michael Chilton-324
3. David Payne-306
4. Dakotah Knuckles-275
5. Jake Knowles-270
6. Pearson Lee Williams-269 (Rookie)
7. Joey Standridge-255
8. Cory Hedgecock-220
9. Donald McIntosh-204
10. David Crabtree-182


-Schaeffer’s Iron-Man Series Press Release

-Photo credit: Cory Hedgecock Twitter

Tennessee Driver Captures Iron-Man Win at ‘The Gap’