Wednesday night at New Smyrna Speedway, Ricky Brooks’ “Room of Doom” lived up to its nickname, as every class of racing saw at least one competitor disqualified in post-race technical inspection.


One win changed hands, as Jeremy Miller took the checkered flag in the Pro Late Model feature. However, he was disqualified for a nose-height violation, turning the win over to Sammy Smith.  The win would have been Miller’s third of the week in the Pro Late Models, but instead the teenager Smith picked up his first career World Series victory.


In the John Blewett III Memorial 76 for Tour-type Modifieds, Doug Coby finished fourth.  The five-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion admitted to an unapproved tire change during the 76-lap feature.  Coby was placed as the last car on the lead lap. At this time, results for the Tour-type Modified feature are still unofficial.


Jared Irvan held off Carson Kvapil to finish second in the Super Late Model 35-lap feature. However, Irvan was tossed in post-race inspection for a nose height violation.  Carson Kvapil was elevated to second, while Jett Noland finished third. Brad May scored the win in the Super Late Models, the first Super Late Model World Series win for the two-time track champion.


Augie Grill lost out in a final-lap battle with Wayne Parker for the win in the Florida Modifieds feature on Wednesday night.  To add insult to injury, Grill’s crossmember was deemed too short on his Florida Modified, disqualifying him from the event.  Travis Eddy inherited second place, while Alan Bruns was officially scored third.


The World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing continues on Thursday night, with 35-lap features for the Super Late Models, Pro Late Models, Tour-type Modifieds, and Florida Modifieds.  Race fans can follow Trackside Now coverage for live updates from Night Seven of the World Series.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

– Photo credit: photo / Melissa Strahley

Tech Updates From Wednesday’s Racing at New Smyrna