Rising to the challenge is what separates a top-notch driver from the rest of the pack.  Whether it’s dominating a race, going on a winning streak or sealing a win with a late-race pass, drivers slowly rise to the top of the field and make a name for themselves.


That’s why FK Rod Ends, who has nearly 10,000 combinations of rod ends and spherical bearings available and carefully crafts their products, is proud to honor the 2016 “Team FK Driver of the Year” from the short track ranks of America on Speed51.com.


Throughout the 2016 racing season, an esteemed panel of short track industry insiders voted on which driver had the most success on the track.  The driver with the most votes was awarded “Team FK Driver of the Month” and received a $25 product certificate to use at FK Rod Ends.


Now, with the 2016 season concluded, we have calculated the votes from throughout the season to determine the “Team FK Driver of the Year.”


Following a 27-win season that included Super DIRTcar Series and Race of Champions Dirt Modified Series championships, Matt Sheppard has been named the 2016 Team FK Driver of the Year. Sheppard will be awarded a $250 product certificate to FK Rod Ends.


Starting with a new team, owned and operated by himself, Sheppard kicked off the 2016 season by winning the DIRTcar Nationals Big-Block Modified crown at Volusia Speedway in Florida.  That set the tone for a year that saw “Super Matt” record 27 victories, 52 top fives and 61 top 10s in 74 starts.


Among his achievements, Sheppard recorded 14 Super DIRTcar Series victories including big wins at Volusia, Eldora Speedway (OH), Williams Grove Speedway (PA) and The Dirt Track at Charlotte (NC).  He also picked up seven Modified wins at Utica-Rome Speedway (NY) on his way to winning the track championship.


For his performance recording one of the most dominant Big-Block Modified seasons of all-time, Matt Sheppard is the 2016 FK Rod Ends Driver of the Year on Speed51.com.


To learn more about FK Rod Ends and their growing inventory visit fkrodends.com.


2016 FK Rod Ends Driver of the Month Winners: 

January – Cole Anderson

February – Chris Madden

March – Josh Richards

April – George Brunnhoelzl III

May – Kyle Strickler

June – Matt Sheppard

July – Lee Pulliam

August – Bryan Clauson

September – Bubba Pollard

October – Stewart Friesen

November/December – Christian Eckes


-Photo credit: Speed51.com/Daryl Canfield

Team FK Rod Ends 2016 Driver of the Year Announced