Thomas Meseraull finally was able to the deal at Tri-State Speedway on Saturday night and scored his first USAC National Midget Series points-paying feature.


It was Chris Windom who was fastest overall right out of the box in both hot laps and in qualifying. Meseraull qualified 10th and was able to carry the speed and momentum from qualifying through the rest of the night.


Windom, too, carried momentum into the heat races, picking up a win over Justin Grant and Friday night’s winner, Tanner Thorson. Mesurall flexed his muscles and scored win the second heat race. Thorson and McDougal rounded out the heat race action, both winning their own respective races.


That lined up the field for the 30-lap feature around the ¼-mile dirt oval,  but due to an invert it was two young-hot shoes on the front row, Andrew Layser and Cole Bodine. Bodine jumped to an early lead, but was no match for a quick Jason McDougal. McDougal only held on to the lead for a few laps before it was all Meseraull. ‘T-Mez’ took the chance to throw a big slide job on McDougal and it paid off, catapulting him into the lead. It was smooth sailing from then on as Meseraull was the first to the checkered flag with a hard-charging Tanner Thorson in second.


“To get my first USAC National Midget win here is crazy,” Meseraull admitted.  “The RMS Racing No. 7x has been really good all year.  We just haven’t had the finishes to show for it.  I feel like in the last four USAC shows, we’ve had the fastest car on the track but just got caught up in wrecks.”


“I saw Thorson coming and knew if he would’ve moved up, we would’ve both crashed going down the front stretch because I wasn’t going to lift.  I’m not going to lift if I can see the checkered flags.  Period.”


-Story by: Madison Mabry, Speed51 Midwest Correspondent – Twitter: @madisonmabry23
-Photo Credit: DB3 Inc


USAC National Midgets – Tri-State Speedway Feature Results:

1. Thomas Meseraull
2. Tanner Thorson
3. Kyle Cummins
4. Tyler Courtney
5. Emerson Axsom
6. Kevin Thomas, Jr.
7. Clinton Boyles
8. Justin Grant
9. Kaylee Bryson
10. Chase Johnson
11. Cole Bodine
12. Buddy Kofoid
13. Chase Randall
14. Logan Seavey
15. Jerry Coons, Jr.
16. Chris Windom
17. Jason McDougal
18. Sam Johnson
19. Daison Pursley
20. Brady Bacon
21. Andrew Layser
22. Stephen Schnapf
23. Cannon McIntosh


T-Mez Steals the Show and First USAC Midget Win