TUCSON, Ariz. – Jonathan Davenport put an exclamation point on his Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by Black Diamond-Club 29 Race Cars Super Late Model championship by topping Sunday night’s $11,000-to-win series finale atop the 3/8-mile USA Raceway.


jriDavenport raced into the lead just past the midway point of the 50 lapper en route to picking up the winner’s share that was boosted by AR Bodies. It was his third win of the six-race series aboard the TS Crane Service/Sundance Services No. 6 Longhorn-chassis.


While Davenport battled .500 atop the Tucson clay, another pair of drivers picked off their first Wild West Shootout wins of 2016 with Jake Gallardo earning Modified accolades and Donovan Flores taking the X Mod win.


Joining Davenport as Wild West Shootout champions were Todd Shute in Modifieds and Grant Southworth in X Mods.


With Davenport gridding the 50-lap Super Late Model feature seventh, pole starter Darrell Lanigan gunned into the early lead and set the pace until contact with a lapped car exiting turn four sent him spinning into the infield after eight laps. Lanigan was done with left front suspension woes.


California’s Jason Papich assumed command and set sail with Billy Moyer, Jr., and Terry Phillips battling for second in his wake.


Meanwhile, Blairsville, Georgia’s Davenport was on the move forward, racing by both Moyer, Jr., and Phillips on the 13th round to take over second.


Davenport reeled in Papich over the ensuing round, even scraping the turn three wall at one point as he ran the extreme high-side of the track.


“That’s about as close to the wall as you can run, the cushion was just a couple of inches off the fence,” Davenport said. “I got a piece of it that one time, the car wasn’t quite as good after that.”


It was good enough though, as Davenport battled past Papich for the point on the 26th lap and led the rest of the way to take the win.


Ricky Thornton, Jr., took over second on the 31st lap and tried to chase down Davenport, but to no avail.


Thornton, Jr., settled for second with Ryan Gustin charging from 18th to take over third in the closing rounds. Papich was fourth with Steve Francis rounding out the top five.


Jake Gallardo fought off fellow New Mexico shoe Stormy Scott over the final rounds to capture his first Border International Modifieds presented by MVT win of the series.


Gallardo narrowly beat Scott to the line to become the fourth different Modified winner of the week with Iowa’s Todd Shute putting the championship away with a third-place run. Darron Fuqua was fourth while Blake Jegtvig rallied from 21st to round out the top five.


Las Cruces’ Donovan Flores raced from the front row outside to become the fifth different winner in six Wild West Shootout RealTruck.com X Mods presented by Polar Industries main events.


Flores raced to the line ahead of Brandon Farrington with Jimmy Ray, Tyler Peterson and Grant Southworth rounding out the top five. The fifth-place run was just enough for Bloomer, Wisconsin’s Southworth to capture the Wild West Shootout championship, as he edged Ron Schreiner on a tiebreaker with Peterson just one point behind that duo.


A total of 167 entries took part in the Wild West Shootout including 67 Super Late Models, 55 Modifieds and 46 X Mods.


-USA Raceway Press Release. Photo credit: Lonnie Wheatley


Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by Black Diamond-Club 29 Race Cars Results

USA Raceway – Sunday, January 17, 2016


Super Late Models:

Heat Races – Top 15 in passing points advance to “A” Main, balance to 3 “B” Mains


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 33x-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 2. 86-Kyle Beard, 3. 93-Ray Moore, 4. 18-Chase Junghans, 5. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 6. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 7. 91T-Tony Toste, 8. 71-Dustin Strand, 9. 37-Scott Ward.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 21jr-Billy Moyer, Jr., 2. 32-Chris Simpson, 3. 91p-Jason Papich, 4. 15s-Donny Schatz, 5. 98-Jason Rauen, 6. 99-Scott Lewis, 7. 17p-Craig Parker, 8. 22g-Paul Guglielmoni, 9. H30-Bill Holler.


Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 15x-Steve Francis, 2. 7w-Ricky Weiss, 3. R30-Robert Odegard, 4. 10n-Rob Sanders, 5. 14m-Morgan Bagley, 6. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 7. 43-Dave Deetz, 8. 23-Brad Williams, 9. 7k-Jason Krohn.


Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 15d-Justin Duty, 2. F5-Garrett Alberson, 3. 15-Darrell Lanigan, 4. 17x-Billy Franklin, 5. 58-A.J. Diemel, 6. 6T-Terry Carter, 7. 10-Junior Coover, 8. 24x-Rick Ortega, 9. 5x-John Duty.


Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 20-Rodney Sanders, 2. 0-Jake O’Neil, 3. 21-Billy Moyer, 4. 91-Tyler Erb, 5. 19r-Ryan Gustin, 6. 11-Pat Doar, 7. 18h-Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, 8. 11k-Jeremy Keller, 9. 40f-Dana Fite.


Heat Six (8 Laps): 1. 75-Terry Phillips, 2. 16-Austin Sievert, 3. 6-Jonathan Davenport, 4. 5-Don O’Neal, 5. 32b-Clay Daly, 6. 17-Larry Childress, 7. 14-Sean Bray, 8. R5-Hunter Rasdon.


“B” Mains – Top 3 from each advance to “A” Main

First “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 16-Austin Sievert, 2. 14m-Morgan Bagley, 3. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 4. 15s-Donny Schatz, 5. 11-Pat Doar, 6. 14-Sean Bray, 7. 71-Dustin Strand, 8. 32b-Clay Daly, 9. 24x-Rick Ortega, 10. 17x-Billy Franklin, 11. 11k-Jeremy Keller, 12. 7k-Jason Krohn (DNS), 13. H30-Bill Holler (DNS).


Second “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 5-Don O’Neal, 2. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 3. 86-Kyle Beard, 4. 58-A.J. Diemel, 5. 10n-Rob Sanders, 6. 98-Jason Rauen, 7. 99-Scott Lewis, 8. 17-Larry Childress, 9. 37-Scott Ward, 10. 43-Dave Deetz, 11. 5x-John Duty, 12. 10-Junior Coover, 13. R5-Hunter Rasdon (DNS).


Third “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 19r-Ryan Gustin, 2. 0-Jake O’Neil, 3. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 4. 18h-Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, 5. 93-Ray Moore, 6. 91-Tyler Erb, 7. 23-Brad Williams, 8. 6T-Terry Carter, 9. 40f-Dana Fite, 10. 91T-Tony Toste, 11. 22g-Paul Guglielmoni, 12. 17p-Craig Parker.


“A” Main

“A” Main (50 Laps): 1. 6-Jonathan Davenport, 2. 33x-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 3. 19r-Ryan Gustin, 4. 91p-Jason Papich, 5. 15x-Steve Francis, 6. 32-Chris Simpson, 7. 86-Kyle Beard, 8. 75-Terry Phillips, 9. 16-Austin Sievert, 10. 21jr-Billy Moyer, Jr., 11. 14m-Morgan Bagley, 12. R30-Robert Odegard, 13. 0-Jake O’Neil, 14. 15d-Justin Duty, 15. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 16. F5-Garrett Alberson, 17. 18-Chase Junghans, 18. 5-Don O’Neal, 19. 21-Billy Moyer, 20. 20-Rodney Sanders, 21. 7w-Ricky Weiss, 22. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 23. 15-Darrell Lanigan 24. 28m-Jimmy Mars.

‘Superman’ Rides the Cushion to Victory Lane in Shootout Finale