Jonathan Davenport bounced back from a Friday night miscue to capture the $5,000 Super Late Model winner’s share in Sunday’s 30-lap main event that put the wraps on Round Two of USA Raceway’s Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by Black Diamond-Club 29 Race Cars.


Davenport made a late move around Jimmy Mars to post the win aboard the TS Crane Service/Sundance Services Longhorn-chassic and is eligible for a potential $100,000 bonus along with Saturday night Don O’Neal if he can reel off five wins in six nights.


dirt on dirt wild west arizona 2016“I put us behind the eight ball last night, or maybe this would be two in a row,” the Blairsville, GA, driver said of the Saturday mistake of missing the scales after an apparent heat race win.


While Davenport took Super Late Model honors, Many, Louisiana’s Cade Dillard topped the Modifieds for the second night in a row while Tyler Peterson bested the X-Mods 128 cars filled the USA Raceway pit area on a Sunday evening.


Racing from fifth in the 30-lap Super Late Model feature, Daveport slid past Ryan Gustin for second on the 24th lap and then dove under Jimmy Mars entering turn one on the 27th round to take command.


“I had to slide by both of them there, I hope I cleared ‘em and gave ‘em enough room,” Davenport commented afterward.


Mars chased Davenport to the stripe while Jason Papick claimed third after Gustin looped it in an effort to reclaim position from Davenport. Garrett Alberson and Round One winner Don O’Neal rounded out the top five.


Cade Dillard made it two-for-two in Barnett Harley-Davidson Modifieds presented by MVT action by capturing Sunday’s feature win from the third starting position.


Dillard beat pole starter Ricky Thornton, Jr., to the checkered flag with Stormy Scott, 12th-starter Brad Dierks and Jake Hartung rounding out the top five.


After going up in smoke while chasing down the leader in Saturday’s opener, Hickson, North Dakota’s Tyler Peterson rebounded by racing to victory lane in Sunday’s Border International and X-Mods presented by Polar Industries 20-lapper.


Peterson took the win from the pole position ahead of Saturday winner Ron Schreiner with Grant Southworth, James Binkley and 14th-starter Jimmy Ray rounding out the top five.


The Wild West Shootout continues at USA Raceway on Wednesday with racing action set to go green at 7:00 p.m. with ensuing rounds to follow on Friday through Sunday, January 15-17.


A $5,000 winner’s share is up for grabs through the opening five nights of competition with AR Bodies raising the stakes of the January 17 finale to $11,000-to-win.


Single day tickets are just $20 for each of the first five nights and $22 for the Wild West Shootout finale on Sunday, January 17.


Advance tickets may be purchased online at or by calling the USA Raceway office at 520-664-2074.


Wild West Shootout hotel information can be found at or by calling the Courtyard Marriott at 520-573-0000. Free on-site camping sponsored by Lazydayz RVs is also available.


USA Raceway is located east of Tucson, AZ, off I-10 Exit 268, then 1.6 miles south on Craycroft Road, which turns into Los Reales. For more information, please contact the track at 520-664-2074 or visit


-USA Raceway, Lonnie Wheatley Press Release. Photo credit: USA Raceway


Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by Black Diamond-Club 29 Race Cars Results

USA Raceway – Sunday, January 10, 2016


Super Late Models:

Heat Races – Top 15 in passing points advance to “A” Main, balance to 3 “B” Mains

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 91T-Tony Toste, 2. F5-Garrett Alberson, 3. 86-Kyle Beard, 4. 6T-Terry Carter, 5. 33-Vic Hill, 6. 33-Brad Whitfield, 7. 1-Doug Blashe, 8. 10-Junior Coover, 9. 24x-Rick Ortega, 10. 23s-Bucky Andrews (DNS).

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 91p-Jason Papich, 2. 58-A.J. Diemel, 3. 16-Austin Sievert, 4. 14m-Morgan Bagley, 5. 18h-Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, 6. 7w-Ricky Weiss, 7. 93-Ray Moore, 8. 5x-John Duty, 9. R5-Hunter Rasdon, 10. 22g-Paul Guglielmoni.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 15x-Steve Francis, 2. 14L-Brad Looney, 3. 32-Chris Simpson, 4. 21-Billy Moyer, 5. 25-Shane Clanton, 6. 91-Tyler Erb, 7. 18-Chase Junghans, 8. 11k-Jeremy Keller, 9. 43-Dave Deetz, 10. 32b-Clay Daly.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 2. 20-Rodney Sanders, 3. 75-Terry Phillips, 4. 5-Don O’Neal, 5. 21jr-Billy Moyer, Jr., 6. 98-Jason Rauen, 7. 99-Scott Lewis, 8. 14-Sean Bray, 9. 40f-Dana Fite.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 19r-Ryan Gustin, 2. 7k-Jason Krohn, 3. 10n-Rob Sanders, 4. 11-Pat Doar, 5. 71-Dustin Strand, 6. 51-Joey Moriarty, 7. 0-Jake O’Neil, 8. 37-Scott Ward, 9. 54-Carlos Ahumada.

Heat Six (8 Laps): 1. 6-Jonathan Davenport, 2. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 3. 15-Darrell Lanigan, 4. 17-Larry Childress, 5. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 6. 42s-Don Shaw, 7. 15d-Justin Duty, 8. R30-Robert Odergard, 9. 89-James Laing.


“B” Mains – Top 3 from each advance to “A” Main

First “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 15-Darrell Lanigan, 2. 7k-Jason Krohn, 3. 0-Jake O’Neil, 4. 98-Jason Rauen, 5. 7w-Ricky Weiss, 6. 42s-Don Shaw, 7. 71-Dustin Strand, 8. 17-Larry Childress, 9. 21jr-Billy Moyer, Jr., 10. 32b-Clay Daly, 11. 14-Sean Bray, 12. R30-Robert Odergard, 13. 89-James Laing, 14. 93-Ray Moore (DNS).

Second “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. 21-Billy Moyer, 2. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 3. 20-Rodney Sanders, 4. 11-Pat Doar, 5. 51-Joey Moriarty, 6. 33-Vic Hill, 7. 99-Scott Lewis, 8. 18h-Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, 9. 43-Dave Deetz, 10. 3-Brad Whitfield, 11. 5x-John Duty, 12. 24x-Rick Ortega, 13. 10-Junior Coover, 14. 23s-Bucky Andrews.

Third “B” Main (12 Laps): 1. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 2. 16-Austin Sievert, 3. 10n-Rob Sanders, 4. 18-Chase Junghans, 5. 91-Tyler Erb, 6. 37-Scott Ward, 7. 1-Doug Blashe, 8. 15d-Justin Duty, 9. 11k-Jeremy Keller, 10. 6T-Terry Carter, 11. 40f-Dana Fite, 12. 22g-Paul Guglielmoni, 13. R5-Hunter Rasdon, 14. 54-Carlos Ahumada.


“A” Main

“A” Main (30 Laps): 1. 6-Jonathan Davenport, 2. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 3. 91p-Jason Papich, 4. F5-Garrett Alberson, 5. 5-Don O’Neal, 6. 58-A.J. Diemel, 7. 25-Shane Clanton, 8. 15x-Steve Francis, 9. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 10. 86-Kyle Beard, 11. 15-Darrell Lanigan, 12. 14m-Morgan Bagley, 13. 21-Billy Moyer, 14. 32-Chris Simpson, 15. 91T-Tony Toste, 16. 7k-Jason Krohn, 17. 0-Jake O’Neil, 18. 75-Terry Phillips, 19. 10n-Rob Sanders, 20. 19r-Ryan Gustin, 21. 44-R.C. Whitwell, 22. 20-Rodney Sanders, 23. 14L-Brad Looney, 24. 16-Austin Sievert (DNS).


‘Superman’ Flies to Victory Lane in the Tucson Desert